Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This recipe is easy. I also added some season salt to mine. My 6 yr old loved it and so did I :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
great easy fish batter, added black pepper and some lemon juice and only 2 tsp baking powder,, used whole meal flour as that was what i had at hand and turned out well also.. 2nd time i make this i made it exactly to the t only used 2 table spn baking powder and the taste turned out even better crispy texture loved by all..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
The consistency was great, light and fluffy batter. However the flavor did need some work. I would recommend seasoning your fish before battering as well as seasoning your batter since it comes out very overwhelmingly fishy tasting without any other flavor to compliment. Otherwise a good starting recipe. Also want to try this for onion rings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I followed others directions and cut the baking powder to 2 T..no bitter taste. Coats nicely. I used the leftovers for thick onion rings. Yummy! BTW I am gluten free so I used my homemade GF flour and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
it's a great, simple batter. i added onion powder, garlic powder, cardamom & paprika, and halved the baking powder; dusted the fish in flour before the batter. wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
perfect batter...I added lemon pepper to it and my husband said it's the best ever. We are fish eaters...former fishing guides from Alaska and have tried many different batters, but this one is easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This was such an easy recipe... Changed it up to 3/4 milk and water, 1 t salt and 2 T of baking powder.. and put in some bay seasoning... Nice and crisp!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Pollard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
If you read the recipe it calls for 1/4 cup of baking powder. I would not recommend this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I will never buy a pre-made box of batter ever again! So easy, So inexpensive, So fabulous! I can't stand thick batter on anything, it takes away from the taste of the main ingredient. This coating is light, crispy and absolutely delish. I reduced the amount of the baking powder to 2 TBL and coated the fish with flour before dipping per previous reviews. I added just a smidge more milk to thin the batter, then seasoned with 1 tsp each of Old Bay and garlic powder. The recipe is so simple, I really didn't have much faith in it. I was completely wrong. It's a must try, you'll impress everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Ewww..I followed the recipe, incorporating all of the suggestions (ie, the baking powder issue). Both my kids and I detected an aftertaste. Also, the batter cooked so much faster than the fish (thin cod), even though my oil was at 350 degrees. Will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States