Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
1 tsp of baking powder is more than enough. I also added fresh dill and lemon juice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Nice thick batter that really sticks to the fish. I knew this batter didn't need 1/4 cup of baking powder, heck, not even cake batter calls for that much. I added two tsp. and it was very good. However, next time, I will only use 1 tsp. This will be my go to recipe until/unless I ever find something even better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
When I first read the recipe, The baking powder amount scared me, but I tried it anyway, and it was wonderful. I did not detect the bitterness others have mentioned, maybe a tiny bit salty for me, but all in all, GREAT! I intend to use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Even though I had to use corn meal flour and i did cut down the bakeing powder Its a great batter I know it will be awsome with plan flour and add some seasonings and your set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Awesome!! I scaled back the baking powder to 2 T. I also sprinkled some dill in the batter. The consistency of the batter is similar to pancake batter. It coats the fish perfectly. It turned out light and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
People, this is a basic recipe for crispy batter when deep fried. It's very versatile, can be made into Beer Batter, Curry Batter, fried cakes (add sugar or honey), all you need is an imagination and some seasoning. I USED 2 TABLESPOONS OF BAKING POWDER RATHER THE 1/4 CUP AS THE RECIPE CALLS FOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Very, very good. I just made this for the first time tonight, and I wish I could give it a 4 1/2 stars. I did find the batter too runny and had to add a bit more flour. It also stuck to the pan a lot, but that is probably me not having quite enough oil in the pan for the size of fillets I used, rather than the recipe. Overall, the flavor was very good. It was very light and delicate, and made wonderful little crispy bits that reminded me of Captain D's (in a good way). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Awesome batter! I mixed all the dry in a zip-lock bag before adding the milk and water. I also added only 1/8 of baking powder, but supplemented in the missing 1/8 cup with corn meal. I also added a tsp of All Seasoned salt and a tsp of Old Bay seasoning. Turned out wonderfully! Note: Don't dilly dally with the mixed batter; it starts to rise! (or mine did at least) I also had trouble with it sticking to the bottom of my fryer basket and not the fish on some. :( The batter mix seems a little thick at first, but once on the fish and in the deep fryer it turned out perfectly. Thin and crispy with just enough flavor to compliment the catfish. I'm not a fan of a lot of breading. Couple it with jalapeno hush puppies and a veggie and you've got yourself a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Very easy to follow, the fish came out perfect, lovely and crispy, lovely and tasty....who needs complicated recipes when this does the trick, thanks very much, A1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I actually use this batter for EVERYTHING! My family raves about my fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaHugs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Forestville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States