Unbelievable Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I joined this site to specifically say that this recipe is idiot proof. And I am the idiot to prove it. I'm a good cook, usually follow recipes (the first time), but this one I screwed up so much and it still came out FABULOUS. I read a lot of the reviews (not all 1,200), and none mentioned grilling skin-on, mixed chicken pieces. Well, that is what we do in the summer. So understanding that... I made the marinade. Cider vinegar, brown sugar, garlic (powder - I don't like the burning pieces of garlic on the grill), olive oil, 1/2 a lemon's juice (I only had the dreaded bottled lemon juice), half a lime (I only had, even WORSE, Rose's sweetened lime juice). Put in the 2 pieces of chicken, with skin. Only 2 pieces of chicken because with all my other marinades I just boil up the marinade as a sauce. I go back to the website to see if anyone boils their marinade, and people keep talking about "mustard". MUSTARD???? What mustard? I totally spaced on the mustard. Out comes the pan from the fridge, in goes the whole grain mustard (which is not that hard to find, I use Maille Old Style). 8 hours later, time to grill. Since I was afraid of flare-ups (sugar and oil), I scrape almost all the marinade off the chicken, pour it all into a pan. Boil for 5+ minutes (if you boil for 5 minutes, you get rid of the chicken "problem"). Husband grills chicken (no flare ups), add the reduced sauce at the table, and it is FABULOUS. Even with screwups- just delicious. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very tasty! I pounded out the chicken beforehand because I didn't have a full 8 hours and I made it in the oven under the broiler, pouring the collected juices over the chicken afterward. My timing was off with sides so I put the chicken and juices under foil and in a warmed oven for about a half hour before eating. It was super tasty and moist - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Great marinade! I didn't have any lime juice, so I added extra lemon juice. Think I'm going to try it for grilled shrimp, too. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
my new favorite! lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Slutsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I make this recipe for my family except that I omit all the brown sugar and add about 1 tsp. of Cajun seasoning, and the end result in incredible! It's a very reliable crowd please. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Cooked it exactly per instructions and it was perfect! Will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I prepared the marinade and wasn't able to cook it until the following evening. I did exactly what the directions called for. It was wonderful I ended up putting the chicken on top of a salad with balsamic vinager. I will be making this again for sure!!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maynard, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is a great marinade!!! I let it sit overnight and the chicken was so tender and tasty! I did not change a thing! You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenjem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Very good marinade. I cooked the chicken in the ovn and it was moist and tasty. The key is marinading it for the eight hours. Thanks for haring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This chicken is great the next day, sliced on a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Unbelievable Chicken

This 5-star grilled chicken recipe will make a believer out of you.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States