Unbeatable Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This recipe sounded intriguing and somewhat confusing. In the list of ingredients it lists 2 teaspoons of butter to toast the pecans, but in the directions it stated 2 tablespoons of butter. Unfortunately I used the 2 tablespoons which made the pecans too oily. Also, I think the pecans should be changed to 1 cup and perhaps a 1/4 cup of sugar would be sufficient if you use a high quality pure maple syrup as I did. Perhaps delete the salt if using salted butter, or use unsalted butter. I will make this recipe again though with these alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Wow! This is the recipe that has inspired me to write my first review! It was sooo good! I even had to sub some walnuts for the pecans since I didn't have quite enough, and it was still scrumptious. I did use others' suggestions and added a Tablespoon of flour to the filling, and only used 2 teaspoons of butter to toast the nuts. I also took a chance and subbed dark brown sugar for the white sugar. The maple flavoring was subtle and not overpowering. It was amazing; this is the first pecan pie I've made (and I've made many) that didn't have the sugary liquid oozing into the crust and making it soggy. I will never use another pecan pie recipe again! My taste buds thank you for helping me make my favorite pie at home, however, my waistline does not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I have this recipe and I won 2nd place at the county fair. It is the best I have ever had. Always requested. For a nice presentation I take whole pecans and line it around the edge of the pie pan. I also only use a quiche dish for this one and it looks great, no crust edge to worry about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This was a very good pecan pie recipe, but I felt that it was missing something. I was out of corn syrup and CRAVING pecan pie like no one's business, so I was very excited to find a recipe that called for maple syrup, as I had that on hand. It was the high grade kind, and although I did like the somewhat mild flavor, I still thought that the pie could have used a little more depth of flavor. I didn't toast the pecans in the butter- I just did them in the toaster oven- so perhaps that was the culprit. In any event, I think that when I make it next time I will add a few tablespoons of JD whiskey to amph it up a bit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I am not a huge pecan pie fan due to the rishness and way to sweetness. My husband made this reciope and I thought it was the best I ever had. Between the 2 of us the pie was gone in 3 days. I love the texture of the inside layer..kind of a custard like texture..was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I have been making this recipe for several years, and I will never use another recipe for pecan pie. Some people like their pecan pie gummy, but this is exactly how it should be with maple syrup! I do use store bought crusts to make it easier because I usually make a lot at once, but any crust will work. I toasted the pecans once, but prefer not to do that. I put tinfoil carefully around the edges of the crust to keep them from turning too brown. I use vanilla from Mexico. Thanks for this recipe! Everyone loves it (and I live in the South - if that tells you anything). I do not use the exact time because of the oven, but pull it out when it puffs lightly in the center and does not jiggle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I used the filling recipe for this pie with the crust from the Southern Pecan Pie II recipe. The filling is delicious. If I were to make this pie again, I would probably increase the volume of ingredients by at least 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
If you are looking for a recipe that doesnt use corn syrup as a base, this is it. I have been looking for a good pecan pie for my boyfriend, and I found it. He ate the whole thing. This is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZERBE6982

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
It was great, but the filling didn't stay in very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giordana
Living In: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Great Pecan Pie. I make it for the holidays and even my mother-in-law asked for the recipe. Always the first pie to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States