Unbeatable Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I will have to make this every holiday now! The maple syrup was a very nice touch. I think I might try it with half maple syrup and half corn syrup next time, as I thought it had a strange taste that was a little eggy. Other than that, the pie set up perfectly, wasn't runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is a great recipe. I've seen a lot of pecan pies that once cut, the center oozes. This one has a great consistency and held up after slicing. Not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
It was great, but the filling didn't stay in very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giordana
Living In: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Great Pecan Pie. I make it for the holidays and even my mother-in-law asked for the recipe. Always the first pie to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This was pretty good, but the maple flavor didn't shine through as I had hoped it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This recipe sounded intriguing and somewhat confusing. In the list of ingredients it lists 2 teaspoons of butter to toast the pecans, but in the directions it stated 2 tablespoons of butter. Unfortunately I used the 2 tablespoons which made the pecans too oily. Also, I think the pecans should be changed to 1 cup and perhaps a 1/4 cup of sugar would be sufficient if you use a high quality pure maple syrup as I did. Perhaps delete the salt if using salted butter, or use unsalted butter. I will make this recipe again though with these alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
If you are looking for a recipe that doesnt use corn syrup as a base, this is it. I have been looking for a good pecan pie for my boyfriend, and I found it. He ate the whole thing. This is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZERBE6982

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I am not a huge pecan pie fan due to the rishness and way to sweetness. My husband made this reciope and I thought it was the best I ever had. Between the 2 of us the pie was gone in 3 days. I love the texture of the inside layer..kind of a custard like texture..was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Unfortunately I did not get to taste this pie as I made it for an office party and there were no leftovers (which is a pretty good recommendation in and of itself) but I will say that I've done a lot of baking in my time and nothing else has ever made my apartment smell so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This pie is absolutely delicious....and maple syrup is much healthier than using corn syrup...I also used evaporated cane juice crystals in place of refined white sugar. I made more the next night, my family liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States