Unbeatable Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
People rave about this pie when I make it. I made a few changes. First of all, I use only organic ingredients. Secondly, I substituted organic brown rice syrup for the maple syrup. Then I upped the sugar to 3/4 cup to compensate for not using maple syrup. And, finally, I used Laura's "No Roll Pie Crust II." Be sure to bake it in a Teflon or silicone pie pan. After several successes with this recipe, I tried an aluminum pie pan and the pie never set (odd, I know).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made my first ever pecan pie using this recipe. It was a great success! I was glad to find it called for maple syrup instead of corn syrup. My guy prefers real maple syrup so we always have some on hand. The recipe was easy to follow. The only problem I had was with the store bought crust, it was soggy. I have added this recipe to my files and it will be the only one I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this pie last week & it is tasty. However, I found it to be too "wet" & I think the maple syrup, while lending a nice flavor, was a little overpowering. I think next time, I will use half as much syrup. But it looked beautiful & everyone else loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pegasus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is a delicious pie, with a more sophisticated flavor and a little lighter than the standard pecan pie. I used 2 teaspoons (not 2 tablespoons) of butter to brown the pecans, as another reviewer suggested. I also added a tablespoon of bourbon to the maple syrup mix, and was pleased that I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I make this every year to rave reviews. My mother says, "I'm 76 years old and this is the best pecan pie I've ever put in my mouth". I do cheat though and use refrigerated pie crust. 5 stars! This is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is the best Pecan Pie recipe I have used. My husband has never been a big fan of pies with nuts but he requests this pecan pie. The maple syrup is what makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgerton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Wonderful flavor, I think it was roasting the pecans in the butter before putting them in the pie that gave it a full flavor. Would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheilski
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was a delicious easy beautiful pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheilski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I used the filling recipe for this pie with the crust from the Southern Pecan Pie II recipe. The filling is delicious. If I were to make this pie again, I would probably increase the volume of ingredients by at least 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This was a very good pecan pie recipe, but I felt that it was missing something. I was out of corn syrup and CRAVING pecan pie like no one's business, so I was very excited to find a recipe that called for maple syrup, as I had that on hand. It was the high grade kind, and although I did like the somewhat mild flavor, I still thought that the pie could have used a little more depth of flavor. I didn't toast the pecans in the butter- I just did them in the toaster oven- so perhaps that was the culprit. In any event, I think that when I make it next time I will add a few tablespoons of JD whiskey to amph it up a bit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States