Unbeatable Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Because of other reviewers that had said it was missing something, I added my Grandmas touches and also made this recipe 1 1/2 time for deep dish pie crust. Missing ingr. that Grandma uses is 1/3 cup cream and it's the bomb. This is delicious with the addition. I will keep this one in my file! Also, would rate 5 with cream added. No need to toast pecans, they do that in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I don't like my pecan pie too sweet, so I loved this recipe. Toasting the pecans enhanced the flavor of the nuts and made this pie taste perfect. It will be a regular on my Thanksgiving table!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was my first pecan pie ever and it was a hit at Thanksgiving! I too used the smaller amount of butter when toasting the pecans. I also used 1 T of bourbon as someone else suggested and it was TERRIFIC!!! I have definitely saved this one as one of my favorite recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is the best tasting pecan that I have ever tried. Not only was the filling unbeatable, the crust was also great. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was a great pecan pie recipe. It is easy to make and it doesn't have the really sweet taste. The maple syrup is a really good idea. I used a store bought pie shell and it turned out OK. I did use about 2 TBSP of flour in the pecan filling because some reviewers mentioned that there's didn't hold together well and that turned out great. Took it to a gathering and everyone loved it. One person said it was the best pecan pie she had eaten. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Wow! This is the recipe that has inspired me to write my first review! It was sooo good! I even had to sub some walnuts for the pecans since I didn't have quite enough, and it was still scrumptious. I did use others' suggestions and added a Tablespoon of flour to the filling, and only used 2 teaspoons of butter to toast the nuts. I also took a chance and subbed dark brown sugar for the white sugar. The maple flavoring was subtle and not overpowering. It was amazing; this is the first pecan pie I've made (and I've made many) that didn't have the sugary liquid oozing into the crust and making it soggy. I will never use another pecan pie recipe again! My taste buds thank you for helping me make my favorite pie at home, however, my waistline does not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was so good!! I made couple of adjustments to it though. I used pre-made pie crust and since I don't like things too sweet I skipped sugar and added just maple syrup. What made it even better is that I got pesticide free pecans from my local farmers market. We ate it with soy vanilla ice cream. It was one of the best deserts I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Perfect blend of sweetness and nuttiness. I plan to use this many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Kasper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sami
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I found this recipe because I was searching for one that didn't use corn syrup for a picky friend. Turns out, maple syrup is way better anyway! Gives is a rich, almost smoky flavor. It's really special. I make this pie for basically every winter holiday, and any other time I can find an excuse. I made a couple for a bake sale, and they literally sold before I put them down on the table. The smell alone will blow your mind. This is a simply awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The better ingredients paid off. The pie was delicious. Watch that the pecans don't burn when you're toasting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States