Unbaked Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Always used the egg whites beaten and then add in sugar. Sometimes it would turn out great, sometimes not. Tried this recipe and WOW! I have put it in my book of "must have time savers!" I would get frustrated with the "old" method, but this recipe was SO easy, the flavor was the same as the "old" method and the peaks I got? WOW!! Look out Rockie Mountains!! FYI, this recipe made more than enough meringue to cover 6 of the mini-crusts made by Keebler; imagine it would easily cover (1) 8 or 9-inch pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
The meringue was beautiful until it was baked. I would not bake this meringue because it weeped so badly that the pie crust was soaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great!!! I have tried the old method and like the other reviewer have had good and bad luck.. This was easy and turned out great. Just keep beating, it takes a while but it is worth it in the end!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Just made this meringue to top my lemon pies after TWO failed prior attempts. Love, love, love it! It was easy, fast, and turned out lovely, shiney, nice peaks and it's not too sweet. I even browned it after for color, this will be my go to recipe for meringue from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Texas, USA
Living In: Monahans, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
It is so funny to me that people rate a perfect recipe unfairly becaue they tried to "bake" a recipe that says UNBAKED meringue!!! It is perfect, just what I needed Saundra!! FYI the other meringue recipe by Saundra called Meringue II on this site is the best ever for baking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made this just as the recipe suggested because I was making a NO BAKE Key Lime Pie & wanted a NO BAKE MERINGUE. It worked great & looked good! Can't wait to taste it on the pie, but the beaters tased super! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I've never made meringue before, so I wanted something that seemed foolproof. Since my pie did not need baking, I heeded the comments of the others and did not bake this meringue. It turned out wonderfully delicious with fairly good peaks (I think I merely failed to beat it long enough, but I will beat them longer next time). It was absolutely delicious (and wonderfully easy)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I've always been afraid to attempt meringue, but this was really easy and perfect. Lush, dense, glossy meringue that's holding its shape very well. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Just made this to top a chocolate cream pie. My first all home made pie. Made a crust from here, which came out amazingly light and flakey, made chocolate filling from here, came out wonderfully smooth and yummy. And this meringue to top it off. It came out fluffy but firm and just sweet enough to compliment the chocolate. Thank you! PS - if it isn't peaking, keep whipping, it'll get there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I will admit this is delicious, but not a substitute for regular meringue. It is very sweet and more like marshmallow fluff than meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States