Unbaked Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This recipe was wonderful! Tasted just like the ones I made when I was little. I did make a few changes to the recipe though, I added a tablespoon of vanilla and I put the cocoa in when the butter and sugar had disolved into the milk. I added the peanut butter when the pot was boiling, and I boiled for two minutes, then poured over the oats in a mixing bowl. You can add the oats in if you want, but I prefer this way. I dropped them with a ice cream scop onto wax paper and left uncovered for an hour to harden. The cookies turned out well, not too hard and not too soft. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Very much like the cookies I remember from my childhood, but these were not firm enough at room temperature. I had to refrigerate them to turn a gooey mess into actual cookies. It also did not call for enough oatmeal. I had to increase the oatmeal by 1 cup to get this to work. Before adding the extra cup, it was like soup. Some have commented that these are too sweet, but I don't think such a thing exists. I love sugar, and these definitely satisfied my sweet tooth. They were incredibly quick and easy to make. I did not add raisins, walnuts, or any other optional ingredients. I think that would have detracted from the overall flavor. I made 2 batches of these. With the first batch, I started dropping them onto wax paper within a couple of minutes of adding the oatmeal. I found that the oatmeal needed to cook a little longer in the hot sugar/butter/milk mixture. So the first batch came out a little tougher than I would have preferred. With the 2nd batch, I left the oatmeal in the hot sugar/butter/milk mixture for about 5-7 minutes and the texture was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I am hooked! My favorite sweet treat is oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, and desperate to have some with no eggs and sleeping children in the house (so no way to get to the store), I came across this recipe. I was hesitant because it sounded hard (I have bad luck boiling milk), however, it was so super easy, fast, and they turned out AWESOME. I didn't even wait for them to cool. After reading the reviews, I used only one cup of brown sugar (instead of 2 cups white) and added 1 Tablespoon vanilla. The only thing I'd love to see is maybe how to get the oats chewier (I did use quick cook oats). I followed Sarah's review to a T, except I added the oats to the pot after I turned off the heat (to eliminate more dirty bowls). Thanks for sharing this recipe, I'm thrilled to have it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My grandmother in North Carolina made these for us when we were little, and now I make them for my grandchild. Strangely, they often won't get firm if it's a rainy day -- but they're always good to eat with a spoon! Put any leftover cookies in ziplock bags in the freezer and they will stay good for days, otherwise they get stale tasting pretty quick. We make them without any coconut or nuts, but I do add a teaspoon of vanilla after I take them off the burner and before I add the oats. Also, I mix the sugar and cocoa together in the pan before I turn on the burner or add any milk or butter. The cocoa mixes in easily that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was so easy and turned out really great...at first i put them in the fridge to cool and saw that it just made them gooey, so i took them back out and let them cool at room temp. and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
excellent cookie recipe. I altered it to fit my family's taste! No PB, added 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips, and used 1 cup brown sugar in place of the white sugar! Oh, and cuz my husband likes it chewier, I used old fashioned oatmeal. These were gone in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Sills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I use this same recipe with a bit different proportions. I add 5 C of instant oats and only 2 Tbsp of cocoa powder. I also add 1/2 tsp of vanilla. The only other change I make is to heat everything except the vanilla and oats. This recipe is super easy & the cookies are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
So quick to make and everyone loves them! I add another cup or so of oatmeal to thicken them up. Also, rather than making them drop cookies I like to shape them into a roll and slice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
um, put these in the freezer...aaarrgggghhh so good! i used one cup of sugar instead of two and hardly noticed a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liushu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I won my husband's heart with these cookies almost 30 years ago. I've been making them for him and now my three sons ever since. I don't (and didn't this time either) add walnuts, raisins, or coconut. To me the secret is to add more PB instead of more oats if you feel that the mixture is too runny. I usually double the amount of PB called for. Actually I don't even measure it. I keep adding it till the dark chocolate mixture turns more milk chocolate looking. Then add the oats. I also add vanilla before the PB. Drop on wax paper and in less than hour they're ready. If your family is like mine though they won't wait for them to set up. I just made a batch for tonight's company. Hopefully there will be some left when company gets here. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States