Unbaked Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These tasted great, but they made more of a crumble than a cookie - it looked sort of like granola, albeit sweeter than I'd want to give my boys for breakfast. Admittedly, it (a) started to rain while I was making them (which another reviewer said made them fall apart) and (b) I followed another reviewers advice and used less sugar (1/2 c. brown + 3/4 c. white). If I could get these to stick together I'd make them again, otherwise I think we'll finish the sweet granola and look for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Very much like the cookies I remember from my childhood, but these were not firm enough at room temperature. I had to refrigerate them to turn a gooey mess into actual cookies. It also did not call for enough oatmeal. I had to increase the oatmeal by 1 cup to get this to work. Before adding the extra cup, it was like soup. Some have commented that these are too sweet, but I don't think such a thing exists. I love sugar, and these definitely satisfied my sweet tooth. They were incredibly quick and easy to make. I did not add raisins, walnuts, or any other optional ingredients. I think that would have detracted from the overall flavor. I made 2 batches of these. With the first batch, I started dropping them onto wax paper within a couple of minutes of adding the oatmeal. I found that the oatmeal needed to cook a little longer in the hot sugar/butter/milk mixture. So the first batch came out a little tougher than I would have preferred. With the 2nd batch, I left the oatmeal in the hot sugar/butter/milk mixture for about 5-7 minutes and the texture was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cropwell, Alabama, USA
Living In: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
My mom used to make these for me when I was a kid. I have never been able to find her recipe for these and was very excited to find this one! I just made them and there are a few differences. I'm guessing she used less cocoa as her's were always a light brown instead of dark like these ones and her's were not chewy. They were pretty solid, but not hard as they did not bend. This recipe does taste great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
YUMMY! I cut the butter by 2 tbsp and they were fine. I also added walnuts & coconut. These are so good, and my 5 year old declared them "the best cookies ever!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These are fabulous! I make a batch at least twice a month and my family eats them up at record speed. I follow the recipe exactly (not adding any optional ingredients) except that I add a pinch of salt. Perfect results every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
My kids love this recipe!!! ME TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My grandmother in North Carolina made these for us when we were little, and now I make them for my grandchild. Strangely, they often won't get firm if it's a rainy day -- but they're always good to eat with a spoon! Put any leftover cookies in ziplock bags in the freezer and they will stay good for days, otherwise they get stale tasting pretty quick. We make them without any coconut or nuts, but I do add a teaspoon of vanilla after I take them off the burner and before I add the oats. Also, I mix the sugar and cocoa together in the pan before I turn on the burner or add any milk or butter. The cocoa mixes in easily that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
My husband LOVES "no bake cookies" and I've been searching for years to find just the right recipe. He thought this one was PERFECT, just like he remembered them from childhood. I added 1/4c of the optional coconut, but none of the others. My search is over, I can throw away all the other no-bake recipes I've been collecting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
These are just like the ones my aunt used to make when I was a kid. They were great and my wife had her first experience with them when I made them. She was surprised at how good they tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States