Una's Cheddar Beer Bread (bread machine dough cycle) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made this bread to eat with vegetarian sweet potato chili and it was a big hit with my daughter and her friend. I made a few substitutions based on the ingredients I had on hand. Used 2 tsp of Italian seasoning in place of the basil, marjoram, onion and garlic powder. I did add the cayenne and black pepper and one minced clove of garlic. I left out the cheese since I didn't have any on hand and subbed butter for margarine. The only small critic I have is the amount of black pepper is a bit overpowering. I didn't notice it so much when the bread was hot out of the oven, but once it cooled the pepper taste was prominent. Next time I'll reduce by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I was looking for something to do with a bottle of home-brewed beer which hadn't carbonated properly and found this. My husband was thrilled with this bread. I don't have a bread machine, so made it with my regular, old-fashioned method and it came out great! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made this totally in the bread machine. I've never used a bread machine before. I didn't read the how-to's, I just dumped everything into the machine. My bread machine has an option for a 2 pound loaf so I went with it. Well, I guess 2 1# loaves of bread aren't the same as a 2# loaf of bread :-). My dough rose over the top of the bin and started burning and smoking. I had to unplug the bread maker and pull the bin out and dump it onto a sheet pan and finish it in the oven. But ... the bread was Phenomenel!!! I added 2 diced jalpenos, dropped the cayenne to 1/2 t, didn't add marjoram or basil. I will halve the recipe next time. It was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I halved this, and substituted the garlic powder with one fresh pressed clove of garlic. Baked this on the regular cycle, medium crust. The cheese melted completely and made a very tasty flavorful loaf. Would probably make this again, but I might try different cheeses and beers. I think we used Michelob?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
My family was fighting over every piece and I had to make another loaf the next night. I just put in all the ingredients in my bread maker at once and let it go because I didn't have time to take it out and put it in pans. I did warm up the beer, butter and milk though and kept the dry ingredients separated from wet. I only had light beer. I used real butter. It rose really high so would probably put 2 to 2.5 tsp yeast in next time. Can't blame the recipe though as I didn't follow it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I didn't use a bread machine and here is what I found. The milk curdled when added to the beer. I warmed the beer, butter and milk then added the sugar and yeast and let it set for 10 min. Then stirred in the flour and spices. I got a great rise and had no troubles. I rated it only a 3 because the flavor seemed lacking. The cheese was there but everything else just seems lost. I will try an increase in the next batch, but theer will be a next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Page

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I have made this bread twice and each time it has risen very slowly and not nearly as high as I would have liked.I make all my bread by hand and I can't see that as being a reason for the slow rise. I made this again last weekend but this time I added some gluten to it and it still rose slowly,it rose to a height of 2 and a quarter inches.I like the taste though,even though it's a bit on the spicy side.I'm a home brewer also and the thought of making my own bread with beer that I made really intrigued me.One more thing,looking at the pictures here of this bread it looks like I'm not the only one having trouble with this being a slow riser.I would give this recipe 4 stars if it rose better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
EXCELLENT! The best I have ever made. Thanks very much chef Una!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I think this recipe is awesome. I tweaked the recipe because of not having some of the spices on hand. I wraped a loaf with plastic wrap and it stayed as fresh 5 days later as the day I baked it. It might sound odd but it's great toasted and topped with your favorite jam or preserves. As for the person who would not follow the recipe and then gave the bread a 3 star rating, SHAME ON YOU. You only showed your ignorance by complaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Boop!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I ended up making two batches, because it was so good that we gave up testing the first loaf and just ate it. Really easy, very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States