Un-Slimy Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I keep it simple.. leave out the garlic, salt and pepper and the tomatoes. I still thing it is really good. I love fried okra but I do not fry in my house. This is just as good and not greasy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
My friend gave me Okra from their garden and this turned out really great! I shared with a friend and they have also loved it! They have a garden and have made this three times in a span of a few weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
First time cooking okra and this was superb! Used all fresh ingredients, regular bread crumbs and a regular tomato. I added 1/2 of a red onion and one ear of fresh corn. Added 10 minutes the baking time. OUTSTANDING! I could have eaten the entire tray! Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Love it! I was skeptical about how close it would taste to fried okra, but it's spot on without all the grease. I used regular bread crumbs and a normal tomato and it turned out just fine. I might add just a touch of cayenne next time to give it a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Yum! I'd rate at 5, but only some of my family loves this, and we changed it (didn't have panko crumbs or tomatoes). Used cornmeal sprinkled on, stirred, more sprinkled on, stirred, etc. until no more cornmeal would stick. Baked until crispy. My youngest son and I were the biggest fans, but I think the other family members will learn to love this if I just make it more often. Might try to toss with some whipped egg whites next time before adding breading. Might add some flour too - but only because my husband wanted more coating. Thanks, Sarah! Though we changed this up due to ingredient issues, you gave me the courage to try oven-baked okra! I've never done well frying okra, but this came out swell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Terrific idea! I did not use tomatoes (none on-hand), but the okra was great! I think any of your favorite coating mixes could be used too, if you don't have panko bread crumbs. I also had to cook a tad longer than indicated, but I like mine extra crispy. So much easier than frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I can't believe I didn't write a review on this last summer. I was looking through my reviews so I could find the recipe again and it wasn't there. I made it once last summer and it was so good, I ended up making it 2 or 3 more times for dinner guests. It did turn out nice and crunchy with a healthy fat from olive oil added instead of deep frying. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Yum! Nice and light and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My first attempt using freah okra and WHAT a success. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States