Un-Slimy Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
The first to review!! This is pretty good actually. I used frozen cut okra, thawed, and a regular tomato, diced. I had to roast a little longer than called for since the okra was kind of damp from the defosting, but the results were good..nice and crunchy. And so easy. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mukamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Talladega, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I am new to the south, but my husband was raised here. He says that these taste just as good as when his grandmother fries them.. and he hardly EVER eats veggies, so it was a big compliment. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I thought it was OK. It wasn't slimy and the flavor was pretty good, but I thought it tasted crunchy and maybe undercooked. We ate some and then I put it in the oven about another 7 min, but it still tasted the same. Some of it was stringy too! So yes, the taste was good but the texture was kind of funky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was delicious! It tastes as good as fried okra, but is much healthier. it would be great with or without the tomatoes if you would prefer to just have roasted okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
YUM! We have okra and cherry tomaotes coming out of our ears from our garden. I was sick of the frying mess and gave this a try. We munched on it as an appetizer and fought over the crumbs. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Yum! Nice and light and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Roasted okra is the best way to eat it! I loved the panko in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Love it! I was skeptical about how close it would taste to fried okra, but it's spot on without all the grease. I used regular bread crumbs and a normal tomato and it turned out just fine. I might add just a touch of cayenne next time to give it a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My first attempt using freah okra and WHAT a success. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
We had this recipe tonight for the second time in a week! Yummy and SUPER easy. Tastes decadent but is good for you. My grandchildren eat this up as if it were candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States