Umm Ali Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Warning: DO NOT use one whole package of puff pastry, only 1 of the rolled pastries that come in one box is enough. Otherwise you'll end up with a very dry and crusty Umm Ali, and that is NOT what it should be. Umm Ali is a moist dessert, unlike the traditional American style bread pudding. I used walnuts instead of pine nuts. And 1/2 cup of sugar is more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I'm from the middle east and I love Umm Ali , but this was my first time to make it and it was ok I think I'm going to use less milk next time may be 4 cups . my mom used to make it with Phyllo dough which I like more than the puff pastry .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
For even better Om Ali add whipped cream (2 cups) spread on the top just before baking. It is incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I have checked out many ‘Im Ali’ recipes but never liked them & I have to say this was one of the best – easy & light (I use low fat puff pastry & skimmed milk). However, I prefer to sprinkle the nuts over the top so they remain “crunchy” & the dish looks better & more appetising. Thank you for this easy & delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Eh. This was just OK. Considering the MANY wonderful desserts coming out of the Middle East, I should have known that this was too easy to give me the results I wanted. I'll stick to the all day, time consuming recipes my grandmothers taught me. The puff pastry doesn't absorb the milk at all, and even if you fill the dish with it, and then it gets crispy on top. The nuts suck in moisture and taste odd after they bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I've never made bread pudding before, and this version was incredibly easy to make! Before baking the puff pastry, I split it into 3 inch squares. After baking, I split those squares in half or in quarters, and the varying sizes all worked well as the final product. This is best eaten right after it's cooled. I made the Umm Ali for Father's Day, and now every time my dad talks to me he demands that I make it again ASAP! It was absolutely delicious, and everyone who tried it loved it. I recommend serving this right after it cools from the oven. It doesn't even need ice cream added, it's so delicious. Also, I tried some leftovers a couple days later, and it wasn't nearly as good because the bread had absorbed all the milk. Still had the flavor though. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
My Husband if from Egypt and was very impressed with this Umm Ali.He loved it He even Sent it over to our neighbors who are who are also from the middle east.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I may be to blame for the pastiness and blah flavor of my attempt at Umm Ali. First of all I left it on the counter almost 30 minutes before bakingand then, because I wanted to keep it warm until we were ready for dessert, I left it in the oven for 20 extra minutes at 200. It was pasty and lacked the moistness of a good bread pudding-type of dessert. I'd like to try again with out the extended warming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
As usual, I slightly messed up the recipe by using a dish that was too small. As a result, I used less philo dough than called for. Due to sheer stupidity, I then proceeded to add more nuts, coconut and raisins than called for. Despite that...it turned out yummy! So long as you and yours enjoy nuts and raisins, you'll really like this dish. I'm not a huge raisin fan, but I enjoy them in an Indian versian of bread pudding, so I worked with them--and they were really great. And it's such a fun and unusual dish to prepare! :) SUPER easy. Seriously. SUPER quick. I am prone to all sorts of culinary disasters, yet it all worked out--I heated the milk mixture, added it, and cooked it while my guests were enjoying wine after dinner. THAT quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is SO good! I really like the addition of pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lengnau, Aargau, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States