Ultra Creamy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Made these for thanksgiving dinner and they were a huge hit. I used the sour cream option instead of the regular cream. Everyone raved about the flavour in them. We have a lot of people in our family on a low carb diet and they all had second helpings of the potatoes. I also made these ahead of time and let them sit in the slow cooker to keep warm until dinner was ready...worked out great made for a less hectic kitchen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Best mashed potatoes ever. Used sour cream in place of the light cream, and added a splash of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
There's nothing like creamy mashed potatoes! It's comfort food at its best. I never tried it with chicken broth before, I usually just did the traditional milk and butter stuff with maybe some sour cream mixed in to make them even creamier. This was a nice alternative. I used a bit more butter, half and half instead of cream, and added a bit of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I make these almost every Thanksgiving, only using sour cream in place of the heavy cream. Everyone always wants to know how I make them, but I'll never tell. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
these were good! great using the broth instead of water, i used 1 8 oz pack of cream cheese instead of the cream, and a lot more butter (but i love butter) but they were creamy and smooth! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIXIE6800

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This is the best mashed potato recipe on this site that I've made so far! I didn't have light cream so I used a quarter cup of milk plus a few tablespoons of sour cream and a few tablespoons of cream cheese. Definitely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Just like it says, they are ultra creamy! Great recipe that I will definitely make again. I did not add any of the "twist" ingredients, just made the recipe as stated. The only thing I did to the potatoes (something my mom taught me when I was young) is once you drain the potatoes, put them back in the pot and back on the burner that you've turned off. Let it sit for about 30 seconds and then give the pot a shake. Do this for a couple of minutes...it will take out the excess moisture in the potatoes so they do not get gummy when you mash them. Works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I added cream cheese to them. Good! I never would have thought of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Good. I had to spice them up a bit with garlic & more butter. Also used evaporated milk. Good, basic mashed potato recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
DELISH!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States