Ultimo's No-Bake Blueberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This was sooooooooo good! I changed a few things. I used light cream cheese and whipped topping to reduce fat and calories. I also used only one tablespoon of sugar in the graham cracker crust and slightly reduced the amount of sugar in the filling, while adding more lemon juice (a full teaspoon). This recipe was creamy yet light, and full of cheesy blueberry goodness! The whole pan was gone by morning, and only four people shared it. **ETA** I made this several more times for my diabetic aunt and mother. I subsituted 3/4 cup of splenda for the sugar, and it was JUST AS GOOD! We also tried it with blackberries and sliced strawberries, and it was still absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Picked ton a blueberries and thought I'd try out this recipe. My only problem with is so far it that I think it's too sweet. (and I have a real sweet tooth!) Reducing the one cup of sugar by a bit probably would make it a little tastier, and adding a bit more lemon juice. The lemon favour is not even there at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Yummy, cool and refreshing. I will make this again. I made the following changes...I used lowfat coolwhip and cream cheese, only 4TBSP butter in the crust, and only a scant 3/4 cup sugar in the filling. Used the juice of 1 lemon,note when you use lowfat ingreds. it will not firm enough to cut into squares, also an unbaked graham crust never holds its shape, so either bake at 350 for about 8mins or plan on having crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is an easy and delicious recipe that we've made several times and everyone loves it! We have made a few changes that make it even better. Most importantly, USE FRESH BLUEBERRIES or other fresh fruit! I like to make it in a 9 x 9 pan so the whole thing isn't quite so thick. For the crust, we like a bit more so we use 2 cups of graham crackers but keep the other ingredients the same. You can buy pre-crumbled graham crackers and it makes it so much easier! For the filling, we only use 3/4 cup sugar but we use a half teaspoon more of both vanilla and lemon juice. Believe me it makes a difference. Last thing, I've also made it with "lite" cream cheese and cool whip, and it's a little less rich but just as good, you can go either way. This dessert is so good and we're happy to have found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Awesome recipe, Always a huge hit Some Helpful hints.... Bake your crust for about 10 mins at 350 helps hold it together. this is not needed but does help. Freeze your squares, then take them out of the freezer about and hour before serving cut into squares when just soft enough to get a knife through. Huge help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made this over and over last summer. It always disappears! I use a few blueberries and marachino cherries to decorate the top...instant party pleaser. FYI...IF YOU ARE A BEGINNER COOK...the recipe calls for 2tsps of vanilla extract but doesn't tell you when to add it...so just throw it in and give it a good mix before you add the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helzbelz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was so good, with a few changes--doubled the cream cheese and whipped topping so it would fit in a 9x13 pan (left the sugar the same--it was way too sweet without). Increased lemon juice to 1 T, and I used fresh blueberries since they're in season. Got rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I hadn't read the reviews before I made it today - there is nothing wrong with the flavor but I really thought I did something wrong because the fruit filling did not firm up at all. It's kind of like eating a cheesecake mousse. The photo presently being used with this recipe actually looks pretty much like mine did. Doesn't really work well cutting into bars, I truly think it would work better being served in little pudding dishes. Also, as I read on one of the reviews, adding the vanilla was left out of the instructions so you could very well miss it. It did taste good, but I wished it would have had a more firm texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This was excellent, I used fresh blueberries and 2 pkgs. of cream cheese and a 9x13 pan, I needed alot for a family reunion. Otherwise everything was the same. It a hit with the family. Pan was empty. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDLELADY9AH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Have made this at least a dozen times to rave reviews. Made it with Splenda for the diabetics in the family and no one can really tell the difference, also with lowfat cream cheese and cool-whip. Fresh blueberries are also great, as are raspberries. Have not tried strawberries, but I'd bet they are great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGONFLYJILL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States