Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Very good recipe. Several reviewers have mentioned having a problem with the skin staying intact after scooping out the flesh. The answer is very simple. First, be sure to use baking potatoes, as the recipe states. These have thicker, less delicate skin than some other varieties. Second, don't attempt to scoop out all the flesh, down to the skin. Leave a good 1/4 in. of potato on the skin. This is the way restaurants do it and generally makes for much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I used very very large russet baking potatoes for this recipe. Perfect. I also added 4 oz. of cream cheese to this recipe and used packaged Hormel REAL Crumbled Bacon to save time. I made and stuffed these potatoes in the morning and refrigerated them, then cooked then at 350 for about 35-40 mins. Sooooo I guess these can be done ahead of time which makes them even better!! Certainly not a low-fat recipe - especially after I added the cream cheese, but wonderful. My family and friends loved it. I love the idea that they can be done ahead of time. Hope someone finds this helpful. ******************************* Update: So here it is 2013! I can’t believe I wrote the above post in 2004. I’m still making this recipe! I got the “do-ahead” instructions down and thought I should update this post. You can make this dish a day or two ahead of time. Do not bake it. After topping with bacon and cheese, just cover with plastic wrap and put in the refrigerator. Remember the directions do not consider the refrigerator factor so it will increase baking time. However, to help take it of the refrigerator and let it sit out at room temperature for about one hour or a little longer. This will cut down on baking time. Bake about 1.25 hours but watch them – you want them heated through and the cheese lightly browned. Freezing: Freeze prior to baking. Tip: flash freeze them so they’re in individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I've made these twice and they are always a hit! I read the other reviews and here's what I suggest: 1) I use the largest potatoes I can find. It doesn't matter if you cook them at 350,400 whatever. The point is to cook them until a knife will go easily through them. It usually takes me an hour and a half. I also wrap mine in foil with a teeny bit of butter and salted. 2) I also mash mine with about 1/2 pkg of cream cheese. I just happen to really like cream cheese. :-) 3) I mix the bacon in the potato mixture. I don't mess with topping it usually. 4) The easiest way to get the mixture into the shells is to spoon it all into a large Ziploc bag, snip a corner off the bag, and squeeze it into the shells. No mess! 5) If you're in a hurry, you can also broil the potatoes until the tops start to brown. Quicker than baking. 6) These freeze really well wrapped in plastic wrap and then aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I have been making this same recipe for years with one exception. I make them with mini red skinned potatoes. Here's how: cut the mini potatoes in half length-wise, toss in a bowl with a few tablespoons of olive oil to coat and bake them at 425 degrees, cut side down for about 25 minutes. After they have cooled for about 10 minutes you can scoop out the flesh with a mellon baller. Then follow the rest of the steps of this recipe. Using the mini potatoes is faster than larger ones (use as many mini potatoes as you think it would take to equal four large potatoes, usually about 12 for the size I buy)because they bake so fast and they make perfect sized finger foods. Great for a barbeque when none of the other food requires a fork! No matter how many of these I make I never have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
866 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Everyone enjoyed at Christmas dinner. Tips: Next time, I'd reduce green onions in the stuffing mix and would add a little finely chopped bacon. How to get perfect potato "shells" - bake potatoes in oven (if you wrap in foil when you bake, don't do so), allow to cool about 10 minutes, and slice in half longwise as recipe suggests. Then, use knife to gentle slice around the edge of the potato as you would when cutting a grapefruit (leave about 1/8 inch of flesh and skin to give the shell some weight). Then, slice the flesh of the potato almost to the bottom in quarters. Use the knife from the center to loosen the quarters from the shell. This should leave you with a firm shell to stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
After reading the reviews I couldn't wait to make these potatoes and once I did, I was more than pleased! Even the pickiest of eaters loved these twice baked potatoes, sour cream and all! I received compliments for three days afterwards. So simple and fun to make... I made them the day before and threw them in the oven for 35 minutes straight from the fridge (topped with extra cheese of course) and they were perfect! After initially baking the potatoes I took other's advice and put them in the freezer to cool-and scooping was so easy. Would definitely recommend adding the sour cream a little bit at a time to get the desired texture that you want. I can't wait for another cookout so I can make these wonderful potatoes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Excellent, excellent, excellent! Have made these more times over the years than I can count. I use what I need, then freeze the rest in zip-lock freezer bags to have on hand as I need them. SO convenient to have them ready and waiting! My daughter practically lived on these while she was in college! Only one suggestion: ease up on the milk. Too mushy otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
359 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
very good, very tasty, but will use half sour cream next time. A tad too...creamy/runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
You can not go wrong with this recipe. I have used another twice baked potato recipe for a few years now...and this one is really just as good. The only direction that I have is to follow the recipe exactly...you won't be disappointed. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
My husband loves these potatoes and asks for me to make them all the time. They are really easy. You can pretty much change them however you want, although I usually make mine pretty much as the recipe states for a side dish. I have also replaced the bacon with crab for a main course meal. They are really good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,946) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States