Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I make these also with the following changes. I will chop up an onion & mix in with the mashed potatoes. Instead of mixing in shredded cheese, I slice pieces of cheese about 1/4" x 1/4" and about 1/2 -3/4" long. Once I have restuffed the potato halves, I poke the cheese sticks down into the potato halves (maybe 8-10 sticks per half depending on their size). This gives you little pockets of cheese when you are eating them. I then sprinkle paparika on them and brown them in the oven until the cheese melts. I also use the "real bacon bits" you get in the salad section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I have never made twice baked potatoes and was very happy with the results of this recipe. My picky eater loves it as well. Really the only thing different we did was add fresh cayenne peppers to a few of the potatoe tops for my husband and I. Outstanding recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eaglesbaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Excellent!!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruTigress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
well... I don't know what the deal is but a potato never gets done in one hour at 350. Unless they are really small ones. I bake them at 400 or even 450 for an hour. Also: I don't use a hand mixer for potatoes: they can end up with a glue-like consistency. Read a good cookbook like Joy of Cooking and they will validate this. Use a good old potato masher and the potatoes come out the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Love this recipe! It was a huge hit with the family! I even got a request to make a big batch for a get together. The only changes I would recommend is if you are doing a big batch and using larger sized potatoes, bake the first time for 1-1/2 hours, the filling comes out smoother and mixes better with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a really great recipe for restaurant style twice baked potatoes. Be aware that YOU HAVE TO USE YOUR PERSONAL JUDGEMENT ON THE MEASUREMENTS OF INGREDIENTS based on the size of your potatoes. Every time you buy potatoes, they will be different sizes (even potatoes in the same bag are different). I try to buy the very large "baker" Russet potatoes (many grocery stores put two or four in a wrapped container and label them "bakers"), but the 5 or 10 lb bagged Russets will work just as well. If your potatoes are small, you can always use 6 or 8 potatoes instead of 4 - believe me, they will be eaten! When adding the liquid/soft ingredients, do NOT dump the entire amounts in all at once. Only add half, then mix with potatoes and add more if needed to get the correct consistency. If your potatoes are on the small side, and you add the full amount of soft/liquid ingredients, you will end up with a runny soup. When scooping out the insides, I use a spoon, and after the first large scoop, I just scoop a LITTLE at a time to make sure I don't tear the potato. You can always take a little more potato out if you go slow. Some people have complained the recipe is too bland. I add about a teaspoon of garlic powder and a pinch of cayenne pepper to the mashed potato mix, and I sprinkle some paprika on the top with the green onions. I also add salt and pepper to taste (usually 1 - 1 1/2 teaspoons of each). All and all, this is a great basic recipe that's easy to customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was a great recipe and watching the video beforehand really makes it even more easy. I used less green onions, only 2 because that's all I had and it still came out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I think this recipe would be a lot better with less butter, sour cream and milk. It came out too gooey and only one out of eight I served it to liked it. (Mostly kids). My husband said he missed more of the potato flavor. We figure if we cut some of the extras in half it would be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Tried this recipe for a St. Patty's day party last night. Everyone loved them and it was so easy to prep and serve for a crowd. Use a sturdy, metal ice cream scooper and you will no trouble getting the potato out of the skins without breaking them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States