Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was my first time making these, I always add or subtract a little to my liking and consistency; I forgot to buy green onions, so we did without it. I made them the night before Easter, I was feeding 10 people and had no room in my fridge to keep them overnight so I baked the potatoes and scooped out the middle and put it in a covered bowl, then covered the hollowed potatoes as well and left everything on the counter overnight without adding any of the dairy products that would spoil. I warmed the flesh the next day in the microwave, heated the milk and added all other ingredients. I used a pastry pouch with a decorating tip to make them a little more fancy, then put them in the oven while the meat was resting on the counter. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchchick123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Very sour-cream flavored. I don't think the kind I liked before had any in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I make these also with the following changes. I will chop up an onion & mix in with the mashed potatoes. Instead of mixing in shredded cheese, I slice pieces of cheese about 1/4" x 1/4" and about 1/2 -3/4" long. Once I have restuffed the potato halves, I poke the cheese sticks down into the potato halves (maybe 8-10 sticks per half depending on their size). This gives you little pockets of cheese when you are eating them. I then sprinkle paparika on them and brown them in the oven until the cheese melts. I also use the "real bacon bits" you get in the salad section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I have never made twice baked potatoes and was very happy with the results of this recipe. My picky eater loves it as well. Really the only thing different we did was add fresh cayenne peppers to a few of the potatoe tops for my husband and I. Outstanding recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eaglesbaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Excellent!!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruTigress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
well... I don't know what the deal is but a potato never gets done in one hour at 350. Unless they are really small ones. I bake them at 400 or even 450 for an hour. Also: I don't use a hand mixer for potatoes: they can end up with a glue-like consistency. Read a good cookbook like Joy of Cooking and they will validate this. Use a good old potato masher and the potatoes come out the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Love this recipe! It was a huge hit with the family! I even got a request to make a big batch for a get together. The only changes I would recommend is if you are doing a big batch and using larger sized potatoes, bake the first time for 1-1/2 hours, the filling comes out smoother and mixes better with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a really great recipe for restaurant style twice baked potatoes. Be aware that YOU HAVE TO USE YOUR PERSONAL JUDGEMENT ON THE MEASUREMENTS OF INGREDIENTS based on the size of your potatoes. Every time you buy potatoes, they will be different sizes (even potatoes in the same bag are different). I try to buy the very large "baker" Russet potatoes (many grocery stores put two or four in a wrapped container and label them "bakers"), but the 5 or 10 lb bagged Russets will work just as well. If your potatoes are small, you can always use 6 or 8 potatoes instead of 4 - believe me, they will be eaten! When adding the liquid/soft ingredients, do NOT dump the entire amounts in all at once. Only add half, then mix with potatoes and add more if needed to get the correct consistency. If your potatoes are on the small side, and you add the full amount of soft/liquid ingredients, you will end up with a runny soup. When scooping out the insides, I use a spoon, and after the first large scoop, I just scoop a LITTLE at a time to make sure I don't tear the potato. You can always take a little more potato out if you go slow. Some people have complained the recipe is too bland. I add about a teaspoon of garlic powder and a pinch of cayenne pepper to the mashed potato mix, and I sprinkle some paprika on the top with the green onions. I also add salt and pepper to taste (usually 1 - 1 1/2 teaspoons of each). All and all, this is a great basic recipe that's easy to customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was a great recipe and watching the video beforehand really makes it even more easy. I used less green onions, only 2 because that's all I had and it still came out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States