Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I do it the lazy way! I cut off the top 1 inch of a large, well washed Russet potato, stick it into a coffee cup cut side up, cover it with cellophane film and nuke it for 12 minutes. The moisture from the washing helps the spud to cook thoroughly and scooping out the flesh is a cinch using a teaspoon, just let it cool about 4 minutes. Do your thing with the flesh like above and you have the perfect twice baked potato. I just add whatever I feel like adding at the time and never had any complaints. Oh! btw, I do this at my Restaurant also! LOL! You'd be surprised how many great comments I get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firechef

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very nice! Great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I've used a recipe for years almost the same, only I add spinach. I like to make in large batches and freeze, Their my favorite, so handy, and delicious, a family favorite. Heat in microwave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I've been making this (similar) for years. One difference - I add 1/2 cup (give or take) of peas to the potato stuffing.... When I am in a hurry I just make mashed potatoes and follow the rest of the directions - put the stuffing in a casserole dish and top with extra cheese.... it stretches if an extra appetite shows up and is a quick reheat for breakfast the next day....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Good recipe - thanks! A variation we've followed for a few years is to mix in a cup or so of brie instead of the cheddar in the "mashed" step - adds a great creaminess. Also, we spray a little cooking oil and powdered garlic into the potato shells and pop them back into the oven for 5-10 minutes, to "harden" the shell just slightly. (Sometimes we'll make them a little more crunchy, depending on our mood.) That will combat the tendency others mentioned for the skins to come apart when stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Beyond Scrumptious! Used reviewers suggestions for milk: used 1/4 cup. Added 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Slightly mashed taters first to avoid overmixing for lumps. Important to find thick-skinned taters - had a bit of a mess due to too thin skins, but just as delicious. Next time will add fresh baby spinach or diced green or red pepper to mixture before second bake. Served with grilled asparagus with diced mushrooms. Success and sooooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Excellant. A family favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyndaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I really liked these, and so did the people that I made them for. Made them just as the recipe is given, no adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monic
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
a keeper. well, next time i will bake my potatoes longer.... i think 1 hour is not enough,,, well, it really depends on the size. i use regular spoon to scoop the flesh, not that easy as i imagined.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monic

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Delicious! I did bake my bacon for 17 minutes on 375 to make it easier. Also instead of milk I added about 3 ounces of cream cheese. Also added garlic powder and more cheese just used the cup in the mix and topped with more cheese. I coudnt wait for the leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,983) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States