Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
These were excellent! I made a few changes. I'm the only one in my family who likes bacon, so I just topped mine before the 2nd bake with Hormel real bacon bits. Everything else went into the mix. We added shredded cheese on top for the 2nd bake. I don't like my potatoes mushy, so I skipped the milk. We think potatoes need garlic, so I used garlic butter I made with fresh minced garlic from my garden. (If you like garlic but don't want it really strong, roast some while potatoes bake.) And I just used a fork to mix it all up; no need for a hand mixer (which would probably only work with the milk in it anyway). The best way to bake a potato (I think I got this from The Joy of Cooking book decades ago): Never cook in foil; the meat of the potato will not be a good texture and the skin will be too soft. Clean potatoes and dry them, then use butter sparingly to wipe by hand all over the skin, then place them directly on the oven rack. When the potatoes are about 2/3 to 3/4 done, pull the rack out a little and pierce each potato about 3-4 times with a fork. Then finish baking. This allows steam to escape and leaves a still moist but flakey potato inside. If cooked this way, the skins are firmer, nearly crisp. While you mix the potatoes and other ingredients, put the skins back in on a foil-lined cookie sheet for 5-10 minutes. This will yield a firmer shell to fill. I also agree with others who said leave 1/8" or 1/4" of potato next to the skin. Less likely to break it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
The only change I made was not to add bacon. Not that I didn't WANT the bacon... Who doesn't want bacon?!?! I just didn't have any on hand... That being said, these were INCREDIBLE!!! So next time I make them & I actually add the bacon... My mouth is watering just thinking about it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Always a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Hallowlell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday lunch celebration and him and all of his guy friends totally loved it...I served it with homemade burgers as a replacement of fries...it was the talk of the show and now my bf wants me to make it again.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlee
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
I made these potatoes a few times now and each time they got rave reviews from my company! They're easy to make and very flavourful! I am going to make a double batch but put them in a casserole dish instead of the jackets...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Family just loves this recipe. I make my own bacon bits when I have extra bacon left over. I cut it into small pieces and vacuum seal it. It really cuts down on the prep time. I also mix my bacon and cheese in the potato mixture and top it with paprika. No matter what it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Twice baked potatoes are one of my favorites! Another trick is coating the outside with olive oil pre bake, helps make the skin nice and crispy and easy to scoop out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
did not use bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Love this recipe. I have used it over and over and I start with 25 potatoes and it still never enough. Love the adjust recipe also! Big Help!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I freeze them! I do not bake the last 15 minutes but rather flash freeze them on a sheet then wrap individually in foil & keep in freezer to have WHEN EVER we want them! Awesome Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Live2Eat!

Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,028) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States