Ultimate Turtle Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Husband said it's the best cheesecake he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is a restaurant-quality recipe. Great way do dazzle guests :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bgirldeb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I took this turtle cheesecake recipe and one other to the high school I work at. I wanted the staff to choose which one was the best. There was no contest, the Ultimate Turtle Cheesecake won by a landslide. The other turtle cheesecake recieve one vote. This is a winner! I did change it a little in that I used oreo cookies for the crust. I also layered melted caramel, chocolate, and pecans on the bottom as well as the top of the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
The flavors of this cheesecake were good but the crust was a huge gooey mess. There was no definition between the crust and the caramel/pecan layer, the two just combined to mush. Adding up the cost of this cake (about $15) I was very disappointed . They ONLY reason I'm giving it 3 stars is because it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is an incredible cheesecake! It looked fabulous and tasted even better. I made it for a party and it was eaten up within 15 minutes. I did toast my pecans in the microwave for about 1 1/2 minutes to intensify their flavor, and I'm glad I did! That was the only change I made in this recipe...and it came out perfect and tasted incredible. Oh, and the top cracked, because I was in a rush and couldn't leave it in the oven to cool, as I like to do with my cheesecakes so that they don't crack. It really didn't matter, though...the caramel layer covered it up, and made it look perfect. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it is one that I'll make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I made this for my niece for her 11th birthday. This stuff is sinful! I toast my pecans at 350 for 6 mintues - toasted pecans just taste a bit better. I always bake my crust after pressing it into the springform pan (350 for 10 minutes) then let it cool completely before putting the cheesecake mixute inside. I used Chantal's New York Cheesecake for the inside of this. It's actually not too far off (another brick of cream cheese, more sugar, another egg, 1/4 cup of flour, some milk, and sour cream). That cheesecake is much creamier. I also followed the tips for adding filling so I swirled half the caramel and chocolate into it then reserved the other half for decorating. I always do a water bath and highly recommend it. After all that time, money and effort you don't want to screw up a cheesecake. Just foil the outside of your springform pan put it into a roasting pan and fill it with hot water. Bake the cheesecake for one hour at 350. Turn the oven off and leave it alone for three hours. Take it out and then let it set in the fridge overnight then decorate. It's worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
F-A-B-A-L-O-U-S! Could NOT RESIST this cheesecake!! I made this for my wife and myself this Christmas. We absolutely love turtle cheesecakes, but never made one ourselves. After reading the rave reviews, I decided to give this recipe a try. The recipe is very easy to follow— However, I did slightly tweak the recipe.. Instead of Oreos for the crust, I used a store-bought graham cracker crust; instead of individual caramels, I used Hershey’s caramel topping; instead of baking chocolate squares, I used semi-sweet chocolate chips. Also, after I poured the batter into the pan, I took some caramel and melted chocolate and swirled it in the batter to give the cheesecake that pretty marbled effect. Basically, I took the advice from the other reviews and applied it to my own creation. It turned out wonderful—simply irresistible! Best cheesecake that I have ever made in my life :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .:ashes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was fantastic! Not too sweet but it was kinda a pain to make. But I'd do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweettreats
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Great easy recipe. I did skip the caramel and milk and used Smucker's jarred caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I am so glad I tried this recipe! This was my very first cheesecake and it came out awesome. Everyone in my family thought the cheesecake was purchased from a bakery. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States