Ultimate Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
We made one change in this recipe, 1\2 cup of butter flavored shortening and 1\2 cup of butter. We rolled them in cinnamon-sugar and made snickerdoodles out of the dough. I just tried one and it was the best cookie in the world! I think this will be the cookie recipe for the rest of my life. My mom helped me just a little bit and the rest I did by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2coolbray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I thought this recipe would be good, but I only used half the amount of shortening and the other half butter. I refrigerated the batter for over an hour and even put it in the freezer for about 30 min to make sure it would roll out well and the cookies were a nightmare! I decided to do some cutouts and some just round and then baked them just so that they could all mush together. I've used so many recipes from the site and have had tremendous luck with all of them except this one. I should have listened more to the reviews because this sugar cookie recipe was really unpleasant to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious! BUT - the cookies spread A LOT. The dough is really sticky, so I used confectioners sugar and waxed paper to roll the dough. After I realized the cookies wouldn't hold the shape of the cookie cutter, I began to shape them with my hands into round cookies. I would not recommended using them with cookie cutters. However, they are soft and gooey and wonderful! I didn't have butter flavored shortening, so I used half butter and half shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made these one day after looking for a good cookie recipe. I substituted the shortening for butter, and instead of refrigerating the dough, and rolling the dough and cookie-cuttering it, I rolled it into 1" balls, flattened, then covered with cinnamon and sugar... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a good easy receipe. I was able to make these while I did a few things around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Amazing! Used the suggestions on this site for the butter icing substituting hazlenut coffee creamer for the vanilla and milk in the icing and these cookies were better than any I have ever bought in a store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is the only recipe I use for sugar cookies. Sure, they spread a little, but they won't flatten too much unless you roll out the dough too thin. What I like about these is that they are soft and chewy--very unlike the crispy sugar cookies that are most common out there. These are AWESOME with cream cheese frosting (cream cheese, milk, vanilla, pwd sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I found that the dough is kinda runny after only chilling in the fridge for an hour. What I've done is I make the dough as indicated here with "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" and regular pancake syrup. It tastes awesome and doesn't run as much. But I also leave the dough in the fridge for over 24 hours. Not sure why but it really helps and makes THE ULTIMATE sugar cookies! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melbiwankenobi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamakittyto3
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
As another reviewer said, this is simply the Crisco recipe. But, with the whole corn syrup is bad for you thing, they've changed their recipe and I didn't ever save a card. So thank you for posting it. I do always add in an extra 1/2 c. of flour and don't roll between wax paper. I add 1 t. of almond with the vanilla. Yumm-O!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These taste so good; however, I tried to make them into heart-shaped cookies for Valentine's Day, and they spread so much while cooking that they didn't look like hearts when they were finished. If I was to make sugar cookies again and didn't care about the shape, I would definitely use this recipe - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States