Ultimate Spicy Spud Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I use turkey sausage, have also used turkey brats (jenno's)minced garlic when cooking sausage, onion flakes instead of red onion. one less clean thing to clean up. :). I also add kale or spinich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Very good i did add carrots and an acorn squash to up the vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Not bad, a little too spicy and rich for me even with no cayenne. Next time I'll use a milder sausage or something a little less greasy. We added some mashed potatoes (courtesy of Bob Evans) to thicken it up and balance out the spice a little. we were a little short on "real" potatoes and only had red ones. Mashed definitely improved the flavor. We also added a bit of chicken stock just to finish some off that we had in the fridge. We'd make another batch if in the right mood. We had plenty left of this batch to freeze half of it for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My family loved this. My only advice is less Cayenne. I added 2tsps and it was still a bit much. We like heat and spice in our foods, but I'd definitely go down to 1 or 1 and a half teaspoons. Otherwise a great recipe! I also added carrots and celery, which was a lovely addition. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in a new, delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
The only changes i made was not using a food processor because mine broke and used whole milk instead of evaporated milk, then I used a hand mixer at the end to chop up some the the potatoes and thicken up the liquid. will make again, maybe adding some leftover mashed potatoes or instant potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Very good soup. I used Turkey Sausage, skipped the parsley & added broccoli and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Made this as directed except combined with Direction #3 from Absolutely Ultimate potato Soup by Karena. I wasn't sure the original recipe was going to be a thick soup, so that is why I combined recipes. Turned out absolutely perfect!Used the frozen white onions instead of a red (didnt have ), and used jenny-o sweet italian turkey sausage. My husband added it to his "favorite recipes" list hanging on the fridge!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
absolutely delicious! I used half water half chicken broth when boling the potatoes. Other than using a white onion instead of red, I changed nothing else and it was perfect! my bf brought containers to the office ladies at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
YUM!!! I only had hot italian sausage so used that. Not to spicy and everyone loved it. The only thing I'm going to change next time is cooking the sausage, DRAINING it and then adding the puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Made this and it came out OK, but broth was a bit to watery. Ended up adding a can of cream of mushroom to help boost the flavor. If I did it again would substitute 2 cups of beef stock for some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States