Ultimate Roast Beef Blues Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I tweaked this recipe so that it was served hot and wow! Absolutely amazing! I buttered hoagie rolls and toasted them in the oven at 350 degrees. I used deli roast beef and pan seared it for a few seconds on each side to get it hot, then spread miracle whip and horseradish on the hoagies, added the roast beef, then the blue cheese. My husband thought they were incredible and we will definitely serve it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Wow. This knocked my socks off with the very first bite! Indescribeably delicious... so good I can't even spell it. I improvised and used what I had on hand, sandwich bread toasted, chunky blue cheese dressing, and dried basil. I even forgot to toast the walnuts. Imagine this toasted... Mmmmmm. Even with the stuff I used it was 5 star, I can't wait to try it with the real bread and cheese (and remember to toast the walnuts next time). You've got to try this, it is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Delicious! The only changes I had to make was to use regular sandwich bread because I didn't have any sub rolls on hand, and I had to use dried basil because I didn't have any fresh on hand. I'm eager to try this sandwich with the fresh basil, as I know it will give such a wonderful, fresh burst of flavor. I used regular mayo instead of light, which was what I had on hand. The first time I made it, I used blue cheese crumbles AND blue cheese dressing... but that makes for very pungent blue cheese flavor, so I wouldn't recommend that. Use blue cheese dressing only if you don't have the blue cheese crumbles. Otherwise, use blue cheese crumbles and mayo. Delicious, wonderful combination of flavors. I also pan seared my roast beef (don't really care for it cold out of the fridge). You won't be disappointed with this one! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Wow, the flavors in this sandwich worked so well together. I used sandwich buns rather than sub buns and toasted them for a minute. Then I spread them with a horseradish mayo that I had. I heated the beef very quickly in a hot skillet and that helped the blue cheese get soft and melty. Yummmm. Great sandwich and easy to put together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is a wonderful blend of flavors. Everyone in my family enjoyed this. However, I agree with other users that the roast beef should be warmed before assembling the sandwich. Otherwise I feel that the blue cheese flavor is too pungent. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is a really good, easy recipe!! I followed the recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a thing. My husband and I both loved it and whenever he sees blue cheese in our fridge, he's hoping it's for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I sauteed the roast beef in a little au jus powder and toasted a crusty bagette in the oven. The rest of the recipe I followed. The flavors of the blue cheese, nuts, beef, and basil go very nicely together. My man hates walnuts and still loved this, so don't shy away from the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was great! I did change it a little. I heated up the roast beef and then I put the cheese on wrapped it in foil and put it under the broiler. My boyfriend doesn't like blue cheese so for his I used cheddar and it was really good. I really like the mayo basil combo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Barkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was delicious! Served it for dinner so I served it hot. Wow....the toasted walnuts added a delightful dimension to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I LOVE steaks with blue cheese, so I figured I would try this out. The combination of flavors is awesome. The nuts make an amazing taste enhancement! I didn't have fresh basil, so I used dried basil. I am motivated to get fresh basil so I can have the full experience, but even with dried basil this was a 5-star sandwich, in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States