Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Absolutely delicious, the first time I made it exactly by the recipe and it was great. Now, I use skim milk instead of half and half, and puree about half of it when it's finished cooking to thicken it up. It's just as good to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Incredible soup! My husband is a vegetarian, so I substituted vegetable stock (Wolfgang Puck brand) for the chicken broth and used vegetable bullion cubes. I actually ended up using 1 ½ 32 oz. boxes of the vegetable stock (48 oz. total), which is a bit more than the recipe calls for, and the soup still came out with a great creamy consistency – not too thick and not too thin. Some enhancements I made to the recipe in addition to making it veggie-friendly were to add an extra ¾ C. diced potatoes, 1 can of corn, 3 cloves garlic, some shredded carrot, & substituted a large leek for the onion, which were all great flavor compliments to the potato. I sautéed the celery, shredded carrot, pressed garlic, and the diced leek in a saucepan with some olive oil before adding it to the boiling potato / broth mixture, then followed the recipe from there, adding the canned corn at the end. I served the soup with a nice green salad and a French baguette. What a wonderful meal for a cozy night in with my family. Note: This would be AMAZING with some dungeness crab meat added - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjack1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Oregon, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
It's cold & windy today, perfect for a delicous soup! I like carrots in my potato soup so I left out the celery. Used whole milk. Added lots of garlic. Only used 1 can of chicken broth & no bouillon (family doesn't care for salt very much). It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This recipe was pretty good, but I found that it wasn't nearly as thick as I'd like. I think next time I won't add as much chicken broth and that should do the trick. I may also add a little more potato, but otherwise it was tasty and a good recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Great recipe. Great additions we used were, 1lb.bacon and more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank-n-Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great hearty meal! I added Soy milk instead, because my wife can't have milk. It turned out Great, didn't notice any difference and added great body to the soup. Also added carrots from the garden. We used 2 cans of chicken stock and 1 box of vegetable stock. We then cooked 2 chicken breasts on the bone in water with salt, pepper, parsley, tarragon, and some lowerys season salt. Boiled on med heat 30-45 mins, let cool and removed from liquid and cooled on plate. I strained out the cooked chicken broth and added broth from cooking potato/veg stock. Into this I added the melted butter and flower. And heated on med. While this heated I removed the skin and bone from chicken breast and set aside and I then shredded the the breast meat. I added the thickened stock into the main pot and added the shredded chicken. I let it on med low heat for 25 more mins. I then let this cool and put in in the fridge for lunch and perhaps supper the next day. It turned out great. I tasted a cup and it would be ready to serve hot or prepare ahead of time and serve later. I nice sour dough loaf or like bread would go well with this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This recipe is great. It tastes like the real, homemade potato soup my Mother used to make. Simple, easy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Very good. To make this vegetarian, I used vegetable broth and some Better Than Boullion "No-Chicken Base" (boullion paste that tastes like chicken, with no animal products). Worked great! I also used fat-free half and half to make it lower in fat and calories. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This soup turned out wonderful. I used a low sodium broth because I figured with the buillion and salt I could have a little more control over the amount of salt. I read the recipe wrong and thought it said 3 cups chicken broth but I poured in a whole box (4 cups) and then caught my mistake. Either way, by the time the potatoes cooked, there wasn't much broth left. I added the half and half to it and the flour/butter mixture as the recipe stated and it turned out perfectly. I didn't even add anymore broth to it. To finish it off, I did use a potato masher in the soup to help break some of the potatoes up and leave some whole and that worked great. Wonderful recipe and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This soup was wonderful. I will make it again for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States