Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I have tweaked this recipe to make it vegetarian for the hubby, but it is amazing as it is too. I love using the baby dutch yellow potatoes best. I tried using 1% milk to make it healthier and I could hardly tell a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Perfect recipie as it is but I have a potato fettish as do my daughters. My husband has to have some meat. As such I added in a few chopped strips of cooked bacon for him and added in more potato. After all the designated cook time was over I added in a couple handfulls of shreadded cheese and cooked for about 5 additional minutes before serving. As such it turned out with a bit more flavor and was like eating the worlds best stuffed potato only in a soup style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This soup was amazing! I halved it 'cause we have small children who aren't big eaters - but now I wish we had had leftovers!!! Instead of using butter, I used coconut oil which worked just as well for thickening and the flavour was excellent! I made it into a "cream of potato" by using my hand blender, mostly for the kids sake as they are not aware of the fact that they are eating ONIONS when I do that!! haha....I had half and half this time in my fridge, so I used it, next time will use milk as we found it a teeny tiny bit rich. We all really enjoyed it as a creamy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This soup is totally easy to make and my whole family is obsessed with it. I substitute a few shallots for onions because I prefer the flavor and I've even tried making it with fat-free half and half. Still delicious. Add a few handfuls of shredded cheese to it just before it's finished cooking and it gets a little gooey-er. Delicious. Our go-to Sunday football watching soup (c:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was the first thing my cousin and I ever cooked. It was the start of our cooking career. So much flavor and our family continuously requests this dish. Definitely a keeper and will win over the stomach of all of your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghetto Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was a little too rich for my liking. I would guess it was because of the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Wonderful soup. I did add other veges that I wanted to use up and it handled the additions just fine. I threw in 6 spears asparagus, 1/2 head cabbage, 6 carrots; all diced bite size. Could have used more asparagus but I was just using up what I had left over. It cooked down and was perfect without adding any additional liquid. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This soup was great. My husband is a picky eater adn he said this was the best thing I've ever made. I added some shredded cheddar to it and topped it with some crisp bacin peices--deliscious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Great recips. Just the right consistency. I did used evaported milk versus half-n-half, and it was creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States