Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These were gone almost instantly! My family LOVED them and I really, really liked the maple in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I don't really have anything new to add, but these are truly delicious! I used a cinnamon+sugar mixture instead of maple sugar and they still turned out great. I added 3 extra maple syrup globs because the dough seemed a bit dry. They taste great with the littlest hint of maple syrup. They took about 15 minutes to bake, but I think it's because of the extra syrup and the fact that the balls were slightly larger than in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Simply Great! My husband, being Canadian, I am always on the lookout for maple this or that. With my cookie scoop, this recipe made two dozen. I followed the recipe, making on change, using butter instead of margarine. I "made" the maple sugar by mixing in 1/4 t. to the rolling sugar and this worked out just fine. I think the amount used for the rolling sugar is too much and can be cut in half! I will use the excess on something I am sure, but I have lots left over. With the larger size I baked these at 350 for 12 to 15 minutes. This recipe, for sure, will be part of my rotation! Many thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I added an extra egg before spooning onto the cookie sheet, because I felt it was too dry and crumbly. Overall, I really liked this, but would cut back on the sugar next time...I felt they were a bit too sweet. I'll definitely try this one again. I think it would go great with some vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Fantastic! They were a bit sweet for me the first time so I changed it a little the 2nd. I cut the sugar down to 1/3 brown sugar and 1/3 white sugar. I also added a 2nd egg to make them a bit fluffier and used real butter. A favorite! Bringing them to the in-laws this weekend. They should stand up to her amazing desserts without a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Great cookies! I substituted whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour and they still came out delicious. My husband isn't into chocolate so I'm always looking for a new cinnamon cookie. These are the new favorite! I'm not sure why, but the cookies didn't spread out, they stayed in little balls but still cooked evenly and tasted great so I'm happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethanylynn02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bucksport, Maine, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
light, not too sweet, crunchy snack!! love itt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Loved these cookies! Wished the recipe made a bigger batch because 3 dozen just wasn't enough. Addicting and so simple. I did add some vanilla oil to the dough though. I'll double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was my first experience making snickerdoodles. I used pancake syrup instead of maple, which seemed to work fine, I think it's a matter of preference. These were okay, not astounding, but I never had a snickerdoodle I was fond of anyway. My problem was that they were hard and chewy, not tender and soft. I did the minimum time amount, so if I did this recipe again, I would try baking for 1-2 minutes less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This recipe would be 5 star if it weren't for the incorrect ratio of wet to dry ingredients. Like another reviewer said, DO NOT add all of the flour mixture at once. Mix some in and add more if needed, otherwise you'll end up with dry cookies that barely spread. I didn't see that review until after I had mixed everything together and could tell there was no way my dough was moist enough. I was able to salvage it by adding another tablespoon of maple syrup and about 3 tablespoons melted butter. Once I had fixed the problem, the cookies baked up beautifully and they tasted divine. Perfectly mapley without being overwhelming. Don't skimp on the maple sugar and whatever you do, don't use fake syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States