Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
A very good cookie. I was a bit disappointed that the maple flavor was not more pronounced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These cookies are very delicious. They really need to be watched when baking them though because if you over bake them then they come out crispy, which I prefer my cookies chewy. I even underbaked them in hopes they would continue cooking on the pan, didnt work out so well. The trick is finding the perfect baking time for your oven, bake them until they look like you want to give them just 1 more minute, slightly set in the middle. Remove them from the pan right away and cool. These cookies only hold up for about 2-3 days. They taste best warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I made exactly as written and they are amazing. We wanted to rename them, French Toast Cookies. We snuck a few when they were still warm...oh dear, they're addictive. This recipe went into our "favorites" file! Only thing different is they took a couple minutes longer to bake but I still kept them under-cooked just a bit. (that's the secret to a perfect cookie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I am a pretty forgiving reviewer but I found these cookies just so so. I had to mash them down or they would not have flattened on their own. They were subtle. Like a shortbread cookie, not tremendously sweet. They needed a longer cooking time than listed. I'm at sea level. I made these for kids. I'd make them for adults for a tea cookie next time. I wonder if a bit of maple extract would impart more flavor. I'd try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Great recipe. It was delicious. It doesn't need as much sugar mixture to coat, I ended up having a lot left over. These were gone in less than 24 hours. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crumbles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
YUM! Like many other reviewers, I did not have maple sugar. So, to compensate, I use all white sugar with a tiny bit of maple syrup mixed in. If you add a small enough amount (about 1 tsp to a full cup of sugar) and mix it thoroughly, you can end up with a crumbly sugar mixture that has the maple taste, but is still powdery enough to roll the cookies into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
These are great. I didn't even have real maple syrup so I just used the immitation kind and they still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I never use margarine - trans fats are terrible, and butter tastes better = easy choice. :) Since they were maple cookies, I used maple syrup instead of the white sugar. It made the batter more rich, and the cookies were wonderful with perfect texture. You can make your own maple sugar by boiling down your pure maple syrup, pouring it out on parchment paper or a candymaking mat and letting it cool. It will make crunchy/breakable sugar pieces. But frankly, if you replace all of the sugar with pure maple syrup, it leaves a nice maple flavor already. I end up usually using cardamon sugar mix for the top (organic evaporated cane juice, cinnamon, cardamon). You want your batter to be too sticky to make a ball with your hand at first - this make for the chewy texture after baked. You use a few spoons to scoop out batter, and drop it into the sugar mix. You pinch a little sugar mix ontop of it, then you can roll it around in the sugar without half the mix ending up on your hand. Just keep dropping in the dollops and coating with sugar. If your dough is easy to roll balls before you coat with sugar, its probably too dry =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Definitely not as mapley as I thought it might be w/ the name being what it is. But that's a good thing for me. This recipe was simple and turned out great. I didn't use the maple sugar though. For the last step I just mixed about 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/2-3/4 cup of white sugar and some ground cinnamon (made 2 batches). Definitely not as mapley as I'm sure it would have been with the maple sugar, but still a good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Really sweet, didn't cook long enough, mushy in center, cook at least 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States