Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious, amazing, simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Really nice cookies! I made 1.5 batches and got 61 cookies with my 1 tbsp scoop, baked for 10 minutes on Silpat lined sheets, I only needed 2 tbsps each of white sugar and maple sugar for rolling, I did add 1 tsp vanilla to the batter and used lactose free margarine for my friend who is lactose intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Just finished making a batch...made them exactly as posted and they are delicious! The only thing I would change next time is the amount of sugar called for to roll your cookies in....I was left with half the amount of sugar (so I'm making another batch). The maple sugar was too expensive to waste! Also, I got almost an extra dozen from my batch so I guess they were a little smaller than they should have been. I think 1/4 cup each of white and maple sugars would have been enough for the recipee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Patterson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made these cookies last week and will be making them again soon!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I only like snickerdoodles in the fall, so this being October I prolly rated these on the high side. That being said, the maple syrup brand I used was Roger's Golden Syrup. It's got more of a "molasses-y" flavor. As with all cookies I bake, I spread the batter in a 9 x 13 pan and bake, then cut into bars. Vastly easier for this busy mom than rolling into balls and baking pan by pan all afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
this barely made a dozen. Its a very small batch. but very very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
These were OK, but despite spending extra money on real maple syrup and maple sugar, I couldn't taste the maple at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Just made this recipe for the second day in a row-- It's easy and absolutely delicious. I used the natural, Spectrum brand shortening and used coconut sugar in place of Maple sugar because I did not have Maple sugar (which I'm sure is delicious). But even so, the cookies turned out beautifully! Having the dark and light sugar crystals on the outside of the cookie looked really nice. The bake time worked perfectly for mine-- they remained soft. My daughter took them to her youth group, and she said the kids went "nuts" over them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I have made this recipe many times and it is much loved by the kids. Great texture of crispy on the outside and soft and chewy in the middle but for me it is too sweet and the sugar kills the flavor of both the maple and cinnamon. I read all of the very helpful reviews posted here and made three batches today. Here are my changes: drop the sugar down to 3/4 cup, add a pinch of salt, up the baking soda to 1/2 tsp, weigh the flour making sure you only have only 9 oz and add it by hand, use butter and make it an extra large egg. I rolled the cookie in 5 oz of white sugar mixed with 1/2 tsp cinnamon (this could be reduced as I had a fair bit left over). Only cook for 8 minutes in a very well pre-heated oven. The cookies will not look done but will set nicely and if you turn them over they should be quite nicely browned on the bottom. They will puffed up when cooked but will sink as they cool. This recipe usually gets me around 30 - 32 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cesson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These are heavenly... Next time I think I'll use all maple sugar for rolling the balls in, I'd like more of a maple flavor...The only change I made was using all butter as I never have margarine in the house... this is probably why mine turned out more crispy than chewy... overall great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States