Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These cookies are amazing!! My husband and I couldn't stop eating them. The only change I made was using all but about 1/4 c. of the flour mixture to keep these soft and moist and also took them out of the oven when the edges were just beginning to set but the middle still looked underdone. The cookies are still soft, moist and chewy today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Chlebda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
These are pretty good, and easy to make. Nice change from the choc chip cookies I usually bake. The taste is good and similar to the sugar cookies from Quiznos (love those), but the texture is a little hard and dry. My boyfriend tasted them and said "They're good, but something is missing." I agree with him. Maybe I'll try to figure out what that "something" could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN17881

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I only used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and added 1/4 tsp. maple extract in this recipe. Everything else I kept the same. I didn't have maple sugar, so I rolled it in plain sugar. The flavor of these cookies is phenom, BUT I didn't care for how dry they were. If I were to make these again, I'd double it, use half butter/half margerine or shortening and cut back the flour by a half cup. Then, they might be more my speed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
We made our own maple sugar. I put about 4 tbsp of pure maple sugar and a bit of vanilla in 1/2 to 3/4 c sugar and baked on 175 for about 30 min stirring often! Turned out great. This was a great recipe to make with my daughter. She loved rolling the cookies in the sugar! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Very good! I made these for my son and he says they are indeed "Ultimate." I didn't have maple sugar, so I used a combo of brown and turbinado. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Good cookies! I did not have the maple sugar to put on top, but I did a cinnamon sugar mix and it was good. They were nice and soft, even the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
These cookies were great! I didn't have real maple syrup, so I used pancake syrup. I also added about 1 tsp vanilla extract. I rolled them in cinnamon cugar. They were lighty crispy on the outside and wonderfully chewy on the inside. After rolling each new batch, I did put the dough in the fridge to help with stickiness. Great cookie that I will absolutely make again and again. Next time I will use real maple syrup or maple extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
We love snickerdoodles, so this seemed like a recipe for us to try. However, this was just okay for us, and, frankly, I think the regular snickerdoodles are better. This one is very sweet, so you might want to cut down on the sugar some. I used real maple syrup, so maybe that had something to do with it, but I really don't think we'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
My kids loved these snickerdoodles. Too bad I let the second batch burn by accident. Ever since I made them the first time they've been asking for more. I like that I can bake and leave all the additives and perservatives behind in the store-bought cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These are my husband's new favorite cookies. I added probably an extra teaspoon of maple syrup..They turned out perfectly chewy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States