Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
OMG!!! These are awesome. I am not a baker at all and everyone who has had them loves them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Loved these! I used butter instead of margarine b/c I don't buy margarine. I did not have maple sugar so I just rolled them in white sugar. You could taste both the maple and the cinnamon (I used Saigon cinnamon) but neither were overpowering. I brought them to work and they were a hit! I thought these were fantastic and I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
WOW! I love these cookies! From the very first batch everyone I know just wants me to make more and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grimm_Curse
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Don't know what happened, but my cookies came out kind of dry and crumbly. I also had to press them down before baking, otherwise they stayed in a ball, and did not really spread out and crack like they were supposed to. Did not remind me of the snickerdoodles I had as a kid. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
oooh, so yummy! Very much like your favorite snickerdoodle: buttery, tender, slightly chewy treat...with a hint of maple. Amazing! I found maple sugar for $14 at Whole Foods, but was MUCH more than I needed. Ended up finding/buying at a small farmers market. It adds a nice light crunch, a little texture, and nice extra hit of maple. If you really can't find maple sugar, at least sprinkle with Turbinado or Sugar in the Raw. Next time I might do more maple syrup in the batter; I love maple! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Added more maple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These cookies were disappointing. I used maple sugar and even added additional maple syrup, but the maple flavor was not especially obvious. Worse yet, the cookies were too floury and dry. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This recipe is one of those happy surprises - even though you think it's going to be good or you wouldn't have made it in the first place, it actually exceeds your expectations. These are pretty little cookies, chewy and soft both. Buttery good, not too sweet, and nicely spiced with just the perfect amount of cinnamon. But it is the maple syrup (I used Grade B for boldest flavor) and the maple sugar that truly make this an exceptional cookie. The dough, too, is beautiful and cooperative - it's easy to work with and does just want you want it to. Other than substituting butter for the margarine I followed the recipe as written and found it produced a perfect cookie. Hubs, who typically prefers very rich desserts, loved these. He also never rates any recipe five stars - but he did with these. I love it when we both agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These are good and turned out to look exactly like the picture but the don't have much of a maple flavor and just FYI they are crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These were very good, but the batter was gooey, so I kept having to add more flour to get it to a thicker consistancy.Could not roll the dough in the sugar still so I just sprinkled it on. Still had a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States