Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Just wonderful! I didn't have any maple sugar so i just used regular sugar for the outside and upped the cinnamon and maple syrup in the batter. I used lard instead of margarine because that's what i had handy and the cookies were a glorious success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made a few changes to the recipe. First I didn't have any baking soda so that wasn't added I also only used 1 tsp of cinnamon in the dough and used the other 1/2 tsp for the sugar mixture also did not have the maple sugar so I used a combination of sugar brown sugar and cinnamon to roll the dough in. It came out tasting like oatmeal to me but at the same time tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Needs more of a distinguishable maple flavor, but I didn't have maple sugar (I used brown instead), so that's probably a big part of the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I've been looking for a snickerdoodle recipe that did not contain shortening. I used butter instead of margarine. My husband said they were better than his mom's so I know this is a keeper recipe. I thought the maple was subtle and enhanced the cookie without overpowering the cinnamon. I used my 1 1/2" cookie scoop and got 36 cookies. There was also alot of leftover coating mixture so you might want to cut that in half. I'm just going to save the leftover sugar/maple sugar mixture for the next batch which, by the looks of the cookie jar, I'll be making very soon. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
this Vermonter, where the best maple syrup is made, loves this recipe! I cup of sugar..I sometimes use 2/3 white sugar 1/3 maple sugar for an extra maple kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Very yummy and interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Perfectly chewy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made these this morning and my husband and I both thought these were terrific. I always make Snickerdoodles and these are a nice change. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These are absolutely the best snickerdoodles I've ever had. I didn't have any maple syrup on hand (the proper stuff is pricey here in England) so I used maple-flavored golden syrup, which seemed to work just as well. Good tip for any brits out there! I also used sillygirl1's tip of taking the cookies out of the oven when they still looked a little bit underdone on top - worked a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
most likely one of the BEST cookies i've ever made. they stay moist and chewy. make sure to cook them for the full 10 minutes to get the fluffiness. i found after 8 minutest, they rose and then went flat, but still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States