Ultimate Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a great recipe - would have given it 5 stars if I had actually made it the same exact way - but I didn't, but came out perfectly. I wanted to make a layered lemon cake in 2-10" pans and one 8", so I used 50% more of each ingredient, and then used cake flour instead of the all purpose and baked for less time - about 20-22 minutes - until toothpick comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I will never make this again. The cake stuck to the pan and I am a baker that usually doesn't have this problem. The cake itself was very dry and the lemon taste was just too much. Maybe it was just too sugary. We didn't like how soggy the cake was. Glad other people liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Made this one and it turned out great. Disappeared fast at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMelancon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Farmington, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Easy to make, but was a little dry. Used a chocolate icing instead as John is a chocoholic. He liked it so must be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This cake was awesome! My husband and kids could not get enough of eating it and it didn't last long in our house. Only one of sons was overwhelmed by the lemon, but the cake was still a winner in our home. I HAD to save this one to my recipes list. The cake was moist, not too heavy and fluffy - to sum it up - Dee-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I made this cake just recently as a "tester" for a later cake to come. I didn't have time to frost it. My family ate the whole thing before it even had time to cool! No icing was necessary, it was beyond delicious plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I don't know why the other reviewers were having problems. IT turned out wonderfully! If you don't like it real lemony then try putting on less frosting or glaze. I love lemon stuff though and it was PERFECT! I was on a bit of a tight schedule so instead of putting it in the fridge for two hours I put it in the freezer for about forty five minuets. It didn't fall part or crumble at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKAnthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
the cake wasn't bad, but it wasn't that lemony and it was kinda dry, but with a good buttercream frosting, it's not that bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
it was Ok, but very sweet. I ran out of sugar so I didn't make the frosting. I'm glad I didn't because it was sweet enough as is. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I was so disappointed in this cake. I removed it from the bundt pan (without any problems) before putting on the lemon glaze. Whoever described the glaze as super glue is right on!! The cake was very dense, heavy & dry. This is the first failure I've had with any of your recipes, but I'll keep on tryin'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States