Ultimate Irresistible Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I tried this one twice. The first version I followed almost exactly the recipe, though substituting some of the nuts for other nuts but keeping the qty the same, and adding some kosher salt and maple syrup as suggested.. The result was VERY oily and not a lot of flavor. So.. second time around I made the following changes: increase oats to 6 cups reduce oil to 1/2 cup used 1 c honey, about 1/3 c maple syrup, and about 4 TBS brown sugar, and a splash of apple cider...I also added cinnamon and salt to the honey/oil mix. YUMMY! I also used some hazelnuts, pepitas, dried cherries, flax seeds, and threw in some whole almonds too. The result of this batch is much better. The apple cider makes it smell great too. Way less greasy, and still was able to make clumps (press down into the pan after adding fruit.. once cool break into clumps). I am making this for xmas gifts.. so I added a few white chocolate chips to each bag after it was cooled also. Great recipe, it is very forgiving so go ahead and experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
First of all, THANK YOU Veronica for this amazing recipe. I just made a 10x recipe and am giving it away as Christmas gifts. I have a few comments that may be of interest to others. (#1) as others have noted this is a forgiving recipe and you can tweak as desired. Personally I like it with an additional 1c oats, and only 1/2 cup of sesame seeds and 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds, and add 1/4 tsp salt. (#2) You can be make this into bars or very clumpy granola as follows. Bake the granola in a jelly roll or half sheet rimmed pan. After mixing in the dried fruit, cover with a clean kitchen towel and press down hard to flatten into bars. Once completely cool, you can then break into bars or crumple into chunky granola. Great for snacks. (#3) for a different taste this can be baked for up to 45 minutes. Be very sure to stir often after 20 minutes so it won't burn, but you will end up with a rich golden brown granola that is quite crisp. The recipe as written produces an excellent chewy granola...if you want it crisp just bake longer. Thanks again Veronica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This granola is fantastic, I can't stop eating it!!! I added about 3 tsp cinnamon and 2 tsp of salt. The salt just brings out the flavors of all the nuts and the cinnamon spices it up just a bit. Thanks--I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I made this last night and was very impressed! I've tried several granola recipes and this is the first one that actually worked like I wanted it too. I did change a few things- I omitted the sesame and sunflower seeds and wheat germ. I used flax seed instead of wheat germ. I used extra virgin coconut oil instead of canola- for a more healthy approach. I also used 1 cup of honey and 1/2 cup of Agave nectar. I added a few dashes of salt and cinnamon. I also had to double the cooking time- I had two cookie sheets in the oven. It just wasn't cooking very quickly. Just wait until it gets golden and toasty. Great recipe and VERY easy! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Midway, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
After trying a few different granola recipes that didn't deliver, I've settled on this one. I've made it several times, and will make it several more. While the recipe is great just as it is, I like adding an additional cup of oats (this cuts down on potential oiliness), playing around with the various dried fruit options (still keeping the total at 2 cups) and especially like adding a bit of kosher salt when adding the fruit. The kosher salt gives it this great sweet/salty thing that everyone who tries it favorably comments on. So far it seems that this recipe can sustain quite a bit of tinkering, which I find fun and freeing! I'm always changing amounts depending on what I have on hand, I've even added whole wheat flour for a thicker consistency and the recipe always transitions beautifully. Thank you for a great granola recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I LOVE IT! It's so yummy! I did do a bit of a change though. I only added 2 cups of the slivered almonds instead of all the other nuts to cut out on fat. I also sprinkled about 2 tbs of cinnamon in my dry mixture. I also added quite a bit of vanilla to my oil and honey mixture because I love the taste of it so I didn't even measure it, just started pouring. I added extra cranberries and raisins to make up for the other ingredients as well. I know it might sound a bit bland but we didn't need the extra fat in our granola cereal because my husband is a cereal fanatic he can eat cereal 3 times a day bowl fulls at a time. So I wanted a healthier version of the cereal so you didn't feel as though you were eating healthy when you really weren't. I notice a lot of viewers just take their granola as a snack, mine didn't bunch up to much it's more like a cereal then it is clusters, so I just had my first bowl with some milk and it's quite tasty, also I feel kinda full...although it could be from grazing from the mixture to begin with! Enjoy your version of this easy base granola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
So yummy - dangerously so! It makes a LOT, so you could halve the recipe and it would be fresh every time you eat it. I found it hard to fit it all on my baking sheets. I had to do it in batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Bogaart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
As many reviewers said, this smells wonderful when baking. I made many of the same modifications - additional oats, cut the oil. Also added vanilla and flax seeds and substituted maple syrup for part of the honey. As I write this my three year old is munching on a bowl of it and is asking for more. I think we'll keep this one. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
DELICIOUS. This recipe was a big hit at Easter family brunch. Everyone raved about it. Both of my sisters and my mom want a big jar of this for Mother's Day! I used dried blueberries instead of cranberries and I used dried sweetened coconut bits instead of shredded coconut and added a bit more salt to taste. Wonderful on yogurt. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I've tried many granola recipes out there and this is my absolute favorite. It has a great texture and is easily manipulated to make it your own. I toast my oats and nuts before mixing it with the liquids. I also add flax, sunflower and pumpkin seeds and goji berries to make it even healthier. Try it, you'll like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States