Ultimate Irresistible Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
First of all, THANK YOU Veronica for this amazing recipe. I just made a 10x recipe and am giving it away as Christmas gifts. I have a few comments that may be of interest to others. (#1) as others have noted this is a forgiving recipe and you can tweak as desired. Personally I like it with an additional 1c oats, and only 1/2 cup of sesame seeds and 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds, and add 1/4 tsp salt. (#2) You can be make this into bars or very clumpy granola as follows. Bake the granola in a jelly roll or half sheet rimmed pan. After mixing in the dried fruit, cover with a clean kitchen towel and press down hard to flatten into bars. Once completely cool, you can then break into bars or crumple into chunky granola. Great for snacks. (#3) for a different taste this can be baked for up to 45 minutes. Be very sure to stir often after 20 minutes so it won't burn, but you will end up with a rich golden brown granola that is quite crisp. The recipe as written produces an excellent chewy granola...if you want it crisp just bake longer. Thanks again Veronica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This granola is very good- not too sweet, good crunch, simple to make. The only changes I made were adding 1/3 cup of banana chips instead of rasins, using extra light olive oil instead of canola, adding a little water (to help with clumping) and adding a dash of cinnamon. The flavor is fantastic. I think that if I make it again, the only changes I make will be to try to make it a little healthier (using only almonds, etc). As is, it is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was great. I didn't have pumpkin seeds but did add a mixed nuts and added banana chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Made this with 1 additional cup of oats and thought it was still fairly oily and pretty sweet. It tasted more like a cookie than a breakfast cereal. It was definitely good - but not quite the hearty granola I was looking for. Second batch I made with only 2/3 cup oil and 1 cup honey (still with one extra cup of oats). This was more to our liking and seems more like a cereal than dessert. Very good though either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I LOVE IT! It's so yummy! I did do a bit of a change though. I only added 2 cups of the slivered almonds instead of all the other nuts to cut out on fat. I also sprinkled about 2 tbs of cinnamon in my dry mixture. I also added quite a bit of vanilla to my oil and honey mixture because I love the taste of it so I didn't even measure it, just started pouring. I added extra cranberries and raisins to make up for the other ingredients as well. I know it might sound a bit bland but we didn't need the extra fat in our granola cereal because my husband is a cereal fanatic he can eat cereal 3 times a day bowl fulls at a time. So I wanted a healthier version of the cereal so you didn't feel as though you were eating healthy when you really weren't. I notice a lot of viewers just take their granola as a snack, mine didn't bunch up to much it's more like a cereal then it is clusters, so I just had my first bowl with some milk and it's quite tasty, also I feel kinda full...although it could be from grazing from the mixture to begin with! Enjoy your version of this easy base granola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Wow! First granola I ever made; brought it to work and everyone loved it! I can't stop eating because it's so addicting! I used raisins instead of cranberries, and didn't use sesame seeds because I couldn't find them in the store. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Daytona, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I love it!!! I took the suggestion of adding a little Kosher salt and the combination of sweet and salty was just right. My kids even liked it. Great as a snack or even in a a bowl with milk! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was really good--I didn't use sunflower seeds and I think next time would decrease the amount of seasame seeds but overall really easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I made this and it was really fantastic. I used half honey and half maple syrup. the maple flavor is a great bridge between the sweet and salty flavors. Do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Super yummy and super easy! We added brown sugar, chocolate chips, and raisins and left out the wheat germ. It's a great base recipe to go off of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States