Ultimate Irresistible Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I just used this as an example of what I needed to do, in order to make granola. Omitted the walnuts, but added wheat germ, and grd flax seed, and added the raisins at the beginning. I found the cooking time to be way off as was the temperature. I had my oven at 250 degrees and found that it was done in 30 mins, stirring every 10 mins, and in 2 batches. Also, I used half of a honey butter (has cinnamon in it)that I had in the fridge (330 grams was the container size). I decided to add another 1/4 cup of amber honey with a couple of tbsps of canola oil. The finished product, is amazing. I can't stop eating it, and neither can my son!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I have tried so many other granola recipes but none as fabulous as this. I kind of forgot it was in the oven and I thought it was going to taste burnt but it was still fabulous. Next time I will pay more attention. Luv this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe is quite similar to Megan's Granola here on the site. They both turn out wonderful-add your own little touches! I make this for our office the day's we do big breakfasts-everyone loves it. This time I made one batch with and one without the coconut-seems folks preferred the additional sweetness of the coconut:)I have a very accurate electric stove-timing is everything when baking any granola. You can overdo it and burn some very pricey cereal! Watch the mixture carefully-it will set up nicely on the counter when it cools to give it that "clumpy" texture we all adore! Oh, and did you see the calorie count on this little gem? Not an every day menu item in our home. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
As many reviewers said, this smells wonderful when baking. I made many of the same modifications - additional oats, cut the oil. Also added vanilla and flax seeds and substituted maple syrup for part of the honey. As I write this my three year old is munching on a bowl of it and is asking for more. I think we'll keep this one. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is amazing - and so versitile - and SO easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is great granola. I didn't have enough honey so I use 1/2 honey and 1/2 light corn syrup. I didn't add the wheat germ. I got great clumps of crunchy granola that you could eat as a cereal, on fruit or yogurt, or just as a snack. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
wow- this granola is GOOD. I can't stop eating it either...but I have to admit, I was shocked when I looked at the nutritional info. yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This granola is delicious! Like others I added a little bit of cinnamon and salt. I couldn't find sesame seeds in the grocery store and because it's around the holidays I didn't bother to look too hard (it's crazy out there!). I just added extra oats. I also toasted a bit longer than the recipe recommends because I like my granola extra toasty. Thanks for the yummy granola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I tried this one twice. The first version I followed almost exactly the recipe, though substituting some of the nuts for other nuts but keeping the qty the same, and adding some kosher salt and maple syrup as suggested.. The result was VERY oily and not a lot of flavor. So.. second time around I made the following changes: increase oats to 6 cups reduce oil to 1/2 cup used 1 c honey, about 1/3 c maple syrup, and about 4 TBS brown sugar, and a splash of apple cider...I also added cinnamon and salt to the honey/oil mix. YUMMY! I also used some hazelnuts, pepitas, dried cherries, flax seeds, and threw in some whole almonds too. The result of this batch is much better. The apple cider makes it smell great too. Way less greasy, and still was able to make clumps (press down into the pan after adding fruit.. once cool break into clumps). I am making this for xmas gifts.. so I added a few white chocolate chips to each bag after it was cooled also. Great recipe, it is very forgiving so go ahead and experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I one problem with this recipe, when I make it I can't keep my husband out of it. He is addicited. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States