Ultimate Irish Cream Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My first attempt failed because I let the chocolate get too cool after melting. The second time I made sure to get the yolks at room temperature and the chocolate was still a little bit warm. Neither the whipped cream nor the egg whites folded smoothly and I ended up using the mixer. In spite of all that, the texture and taste was very good. I think the recipe was just a bit advanced for my skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Very easy recipe to make. I think I would use milk chocolate next time with cherry or raspberry brandy. I am not a fan of dark chocolate. But overall good! My teenage son LOVES it, he scraped the bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Too rich for me, but my family loved it! I doubled the recipe and it went very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was a great recipe, creamy and smooth. I did add extra irish cream and I think I will use a milk chocolate next time. Not to much of a dark chocolate fan but everyone else really enjoyed it. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginnybaby19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Definitely a 5 star for flavor but 4 stars for the way the recipe is written! The first step should be to whip the cream. Also, in case people don't know the bowl and beaters should be chilled in fridge for a while. Use a metal bowl..I just put the entire bowl and beater from my Kitchen-Aide mixer into the fridge for 15 minutes. Also, how frothy should the egg yolks be? I made mine frothy but when I stirred in the chocolate I did get some lumps. I kept going with my wire whisk and eventually they evened out. Probably should have used room-temp eggs. I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate which came out a tiny bit bitter. It was either that or the rum I used instead of the Irish Cream. I'd love to try this recipe with white chocolate or milk chocolate and Frangelico (hazelnut liquer). Finally, make sure you beat your egg whites until stiff and dry, not just stiff. Mine were a little too damp and I ended up with some lumps in the final mousse. It really did taste great with whipped cream and fresh strawberries on top. It was 10 times better the next day! The time in the fridge must have allowed the texture to get fluffy but still thick and creamy. Definitely chill the mousse for a couple hours..that detail was left out. Thanks for sharing a great recipe..overall it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wow, wow, wow! :) This is an awesome dessert. I had never made a mousse before but it was really easy and looks super impressive. It was a huge hit with my dinner guests and I will definately make it again. I did use a big extra splash of booze and I garnished the top of the cream with a sliced strawberry. It turned out so beautifully that I can't wait for my next dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I really liked this mousse, and i've found that if you place the ready made mousse and whipped cream into your glass, and place it all into the freezer overnight, you'll have a Vary Vary good frozen treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
The chocolate mousse was very nice but I would add a extra tablespoon of irish cream. Also, it is better if you add the whipped cream just before serving so that it does not go hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I used ghirardhelli double chocolate. This was very good but not much of the irish cream flavor (I used a homemade recipe....Original Irish Cream from this site) came through. I think next time I may drizzle a bit over the set-up mousse before topping w/ whipped cream & chocolate curls. This was a perfect finish to our St Patrick's day dinner...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made this with my class, and at the last minute I had to exchange Irish Cream with raspberry. They loved it, and even I did--I don't really like chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States