Ultimate Irish Cream Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
this is a WONDERFUL recipe! I read through all the reviews for recomendations and did change it up a bit ... I used ghiradehlli semi-sweet chocolate chips 'cause that is what I had in the house an increased the Baileys to 1/8 cup... I doubled the recipe and was the hit of the St. Patrick's Day party that I brought it to. My husband doesn't like sweet desserts and he LOVED this - beautiful texture and flavor ... I highly recomend this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
5 with changes. I gave it a 4 because the changes were noticeable. Increased Irish cream from 1tb to 4. Added 2 Tb of sugar to the whipped cream. Without changes is a bit to bitter and cant taste the Irish cream much. I incorporated all the whipped cream into the mouses instead of half of it. I incorporated it all with a whisk beater on my kitchenaid mixer...had no problem with incorporating the eggs etc and it did not come out eggy. I am not sure if I will makeit again though just due to the salmonella risk using uncooked eggs. OTOH the family loooved it....I served it topped with fresh strawberries. This says it makes 4 servings. It is so rich though that I really got 8 out of it. 4 is a large serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was a little too bitter for me. The mousse was the right consistency and easy to make but needed lots of whipped cream to add sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Texture is light and fluffy, and the taste is good. I couldn't get the beaten egg whites incorporated very well (at least to my satisfaction) into the chocolate mixture. Tthe egg white texture dominated which shouldn't be the case in a well-made mousse. And it did end up a bit lumpy. Overall, it was a nice dessert, but it didn't WOW any of us as I hoped it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Wow! Just made this for dessert tonight, and I'm really surprised how well it turned out! I love Irish Cream Liqueur in just about anything, and this was a perfect dessert for me! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good, but with some tweaking it could be great! I made it as is, this first time, but next time I will add more sugar to the whipped cream and add more Irish cream (at least 3 tablespoons). Recommend using a double boiler for the chocolate, and make sure the egg white are beat very stiff and dry. Nonetheless, it was light and fluffy (perfect after a heavy meal) and will be my go to St. Patrick's day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
5 stars with a few revisions. Whip the cream first adding about 1-2 Tablespoons of sugar to the cream very gradually. I used Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips and melted them in the microwave. I used 1/4 c Irish cream too. If you use a folding utensil the mousse comes out very smooth and creamy. Garnish with fresh mint or a chocolate mint tiny candy for a green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I added extra Baileys and the flavour was fantastic! Although the texture was a bit strange, you could really feel the whipped egg whites. Probably won't make again as no one really enjoyed the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Unbelievably tasty, and not nearly as hard as I thought it would be. The Bailey's doesn't really come through that strongly, which is a good thing and a bad thing. If you like it boozy, double or triple the amount in there. Otherwise, it will just be a hint of taste-- which is just lovely, too. As for the comments about the serving immediately or refrigerating, I refrigerated for a couple of hours and it was firm, but still wonderfully light and fluffy. I would definitely recommend letting it sit in the fridge to firm up for a bit before serving. Makes dinner prep easier, too! :) Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
It's good. Not life altering, but good. Perhaps I should reveal I'm not a chocoholic. Maybe that makes a difference....Textures was pleasing, and I would make again for a company's coming buffet situation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States