Ultimate Irish Cream Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Definitely a 5 star for flavor but 4 stars for the way the recipe is written! The first step should be to whip the cream. Also, in case people don't know the bowl and beaters should be chilled in fridge for a while. Use a metal bowl..I just put the entire bowl and beater from my Kitchen-Aide mixer into the fridge for 15 minutes. Also, how frothy should the egg yolks be? I made mine frothy but when I stirred in the chocolate I did get some lumps. I kept going with my wire whisk and eventually they evened out. Probably should have used room-temp eggs. I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate which came out a tiny bit bitter. It was either that or the rum I used instead of the Irish Cream. I'd love to try this recipe with white chocolate or milk chocolate and Frangelico (hazelnut liquer). Finally, make sure you beat your egg whites until stiff and dry, not just stiff. Mine were a little too damp and I ended up with some lumps in the final mousse. It really did taste great with whipped cream and fresh strawberries on top. It was 10 times better the next day! The time in the fridge must have allowed the texture to get fluffy but still thick and creamy. Definitely chill the mousse for a couple hours..that detail was left out. Thanks for sharing a great recipe..overall it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wow, wow, wow! :) This is an awesome dessert. I had never made a mousse before but it was really easy and looks super impressive. It was a huge hit with my dinner guests and I will definately make it again. I did use a big extra splash of booze and I garnished the top of the cream with a sliced strawberry. It turned out so beautifully that I can't wait for my next dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
The chocolate mousse was very nice but I would add a extra tablespoon of irish cream. Also, it is better if you add the whipped cream just before serving so that it does not go hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Unbelievably tasty, and not nearly as hard as I thought it would be. The Bailey's doesn't really come through that strongly, which is a good thing and a bad thing. If you like it boozy, double or triple the amount in there. Otherwise, it will just be a hint of taste-- which is just lovely, too. As for the comments about the serving immediately or refrigerating, I refrigerated for a couple of hours and it was firm, but still wonderfully light and fluffy. I would definitely recommend letting it sit in the fridge to firm up for a bit before serving. Makes dinner prep easier, too! :) Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I really liked this mousse, and i've found that if you place the ready made mousse and whipped cream into your glass, and place it all into the freezer overnight, you'll have a Vary Vary good frozen treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Too rich for me, but my family loved it! I doubled the recipe and it went very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I used ghirardhelli double chocolate. This was very good but not much of the irish cream flavor (I used a homemade recipe....Original Irish Cream from this site) came through. I think next time I may drizzle a bit over the set-up mousse before topping w/ whipped cream & chocolate curls. This was a perfect finish to our St Patrick's day dinner...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
5 stars with a few revisions. Whip the cream first adding about 1-2 Tablespoons of sugar to the cream very gradually. I used Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips and melted them in the microwave. I used 1/4 c Irish cream too. If you use a folding utensil the mousse comes out very smooth and creamy. Garnish with fresh mint or a chocolate mint tiny candy for a green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I added extra Baileys and the flavour was fantastic! Although the texture was a bit strange, you could really feel the whipped egg whites. Probably won't make again as no one really enjoyed the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Very easy recipe to make. I think I would use milk chocolate next time with cherry or raspberry brandy. I am not a fan of dark chocolate. But overall good! My teenage son LOVES it, he scraped the bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States