Ultimate Irish Cream Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
this is a WONDERFUL recipe! I read through all the reviews for recomendations and did change it up a bit ... I used ghiradehlli semi-sweet chocolate chips 'cause that is what I had in the house an increased the Baileys to 1/8 cup... I doubled the recipe and was the hit of the St. Patrick's Day party that I brought it to. My husband doesn't like sweet desserts and he LOVED this - beautiful texture and flavor ... I highly recomend this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
5 with changes. I gave it a 4 because the changes were noticeable. Increased Irish cream from 1tb to 4. Added 2 Tb of sugar to the whipped cream. Without changes is a bit to bitter and cant taste the Irish cream much. I incorporated all the whipped cream into the mouses instead of half of it. I incorporated it all with a whisk beater on my kitchenaid mixer...had no problem with incorporating the eggs etc and it did not come out eggy. I am not sure if I will makeit again though just due to the salmonella risk using uncooked eggs. OTOH the family loooved it....I served it topped with fresh strawberries. This says it makes 4 servings. It is so rich though that I really got 8 out of it. 4 is a large serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was a little too bitter for me. The mousse was the right consistency and easy to make but needed lots of whipped cream to add sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Texture is light and fluffy, and the taste is good. I couldn't get the beaten egg whites incorporated very well (at least to my satisfaction) into the chocolate mixture. Tthe egg white texture dominated which shouldn't be the case in a well-made mousse. And it did end up a bit lumpy. Overall, it was a nice dessert, but it didn't WOW any of us as I hoped it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Wow! Just made this for dessert tonight, and I'm really surprised how well it turned out! I love Irish Cream Liqueur in just about anything, and this was a perfect dessert for me! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good, but with some tweaking it could be great! I made it as is, this first time, but next time I will add more sugar to the whipped cream and add more Irish cream (at least 3 tablespoons). Recommend using a double boiler for the chocolate, and make sure the egg white are beat very stiff and dry. Nonetheless, it was light and fluffy (perfect after a heavy meal) and will be my go to St. Patrick's day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
5 stars with a few revisions. Whip the cream first adding about 1-2 Tablespoons of sugar to the cream very gradually. I used Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips and melted them in the microwave. I used 1/4 c Irish cream too. If you use a folding utensil the mousse comes out very smooth and creamy. Garnish with fresh mint or a chocolate mint tiny candy for a green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I added extra Baileys and the flavour was fantastic! Although the texture was a bit strange, you could really feel the whipped egg whites. Probably won't make again as no one really enjoyed the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Unbelievably tasty, and not nearly as hard as I thought it would be. The Bailey's doesn't really come through that strongly, which is a good thing and a bad thing. If you like it boozy, double or triple the amount in there. Otherwise, it will just be a hint of taste-- which is just lovely, too. As for the comments about the serving immediately or refrigerating, I refrigerated for a couple of hours and it was firm, but still wonderfully light and fluffy. I would definitely recommend letting it sit in the fridge to firm up for a bit before serving. Makes dinner prep easier, too! :) Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
It's good. Not life altering, but good. Perhaps I should reveal I'm not a chocoholic. Maybe that makes a difference....Textures was pleasing, and I would make again for a company's coming buffet situation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States