Ultimate High Altitude Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mrs.louser
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I love this recipe!! My grandmas recipe is an old family tradition but they turned out flat and brittle like... I was so bummed and then I found this recipe!! Great cookies every time! I used dark chocolate chips too ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina Jane Beebe
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
So awesome! Wonderful recipe. Did add a tad more chocolate chips than it said. I'm from utah, and this recipe worked so well! I posted a photo of the finish product. It looks way better in person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica Gonzales
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Very delicious and came out perfect!! Nice to fluffy, not flat at all!! Willbe using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Here's the deal: does this recipe make a tasty batch of chocolate chip cookies? Yes. But they're chocolate chip cookies, for goodness sake. The bar is set pretty high, and if you claim that your recipe does better at high altitudes than the 3,000 other regular recipes, yours had better deliver. This one didn't, AT ALL. I live in Colorado Springs and followed this recipe to the letter. I even used cold butter, cut in with a pastry mixer, like other high altitude recipes say to do. Exact same shape, rise, and consistency as every other failed recipe. Hence the two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
These were probably the most delicious chocolate chip cookies I've ever made -- at any elevation. Made them in Tahoe, CA at about 7000 feet. I halved the recipe and used just one egg (as opposed to 1 and 1/2 eggs), reduced the flour to 1 and 1/2 cups and doubled the vanilla. My kids couldn't get enough! Thanks very much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Very happy with this recipe, here in Colorado @ 6000 ft! I used half butter, half crisco. I also halved the baking soda (1/2 teaspoon). Depending on your oven (and how well-done you like your cookies): mine took 11.5 minutes to bake to a perfect golden brown. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I'm at 6500 feet and followed the recipe precisely. They came out more cakey than I prefer. They're more like soft scones than cookies. I suggest cutting the flour down to 2 3/4 Cups from the instructed 3 1/2. Otherwise, it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlueBear
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
We live at 7000' and followed the recipe exactly. It turned out flat with burned edges at 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chinle, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It worked well at around 7000 feet. I shouldn't have added the additional flour though, it made them a bit dry. Next time I'll just follow the original recipe exactly. They were very good though despite the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I was very skeptical when making these. I live in Wyoming and so far, I found 1 chocolate chip cookie recipe that didn't turn out flat but they just weren't as good as Nestle. When I made the dough for these, I couldn't believe how dry it was. But, when they came out, they were really good! I did add a full teaspoon of salt because I like my cookies a little more salty like Nestle's and a full bag of chocolate chips. This is definitely my go to recipe for chocolate chip cookies while we're living at over 7,000 feet. Thanks! The search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcallihan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States