Ultimate Gulf Coast Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ty Roberson
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Delicious, I did not exactly follow the actual measurements for seasonings I based it off my taste. I also added okra and cod fish, clams and mussels to the final pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty Roberson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Best gumbo I've ever had! I did add fresh okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe is great the way it is, I don't eat seafood but when I made it for my husband who is a big seafood eater he loved it and all his friends..didn't change a thing thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
i loved it I however wanted more of a soup like so I just added more broth little extra seasonings and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Really good. My first time to make a homemade roux though. This recipe should tell you that your gonna be stirring way longer than several minutes !Also, I'm from east Tx. and I added Tony Chachere's plus the Old Bay, talk about the perfect kick!!One thing that the recipe messed up on is 1 tbs. of cayenne was in the ingrediants and them red pepper flakes were in one of the steps. Needless to say I used both,lol !! Good and spicy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
this is my family's favorite. my 7 year old requests this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Good, goood, good. Do over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This has got to be the best gumbo recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! Used and modified it many times to suite the taste of many different people. For example, I substituted Zetairan's Creole seasoning for Olds Bay, and used dice Jalapenos’ peppers with fresh chopped Okra. Likewise, I used fresh crab meat vice canned, and Oysters as well. Everything else remained the same minus the File’, and subtle tweaks and additions to the remaining seasoning mix… Good job Mr. Wilson....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
So delicious my boyfriend proclaimed that he would eat it every day! I am making it again for this chilly summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States