Ultimate Gulf Coast Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was a very good recipe use snow crab instead of can crab meat my husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Excellent Sha !!! The only thing I did different is add 1/2 C chopped flat leaf Parsley, 1/2 c Green Onion. I also used bacon drippings and made up the difference w/ the oil. I would have used all drippings if I had it!! This is an excellent base recipe as well, just sub whatever meat you want and ALWAYS use Andouille sausage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pirate
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
We absolutely loved it! It had a bit of a kick to it (my wife doesn't usually like spicy), but it was just right. This is one we will definitely make for our friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pirate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Awesome! My husband is cajun and I knew every now and again he wants a little taste of home, he and the kids all loved it! This will be a regular dish in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christin Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallory M.
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This recipe was great! It was my first time making this dish and I was very pleased with the results. All of the flavors came together so nicely and it was very filling! Had a little trouble with the rue but it didn't change the taste. My family enjoyed it alot. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Wow - this is wonderful. We had over friends and they loved it. One of them said it was the best meal he ever had - and he is in the restaurant business. I made a mistake and dumped the shrimp stock before I put it in the gumbo so I added chicken stock instead. It was still great. Nexttime I will by shrimp already peeled to save the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this recipe twice already. It's delicious, and not very difficult at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
My family has been making Cajun & Creole Gumbo for over 90 years.We use fresh chopped Okra in all of our Gumbos instead of File'Powder.File'was used only if you do not have fresh or frozen chopped Okra. Otherwise the Recipe is very good.Sometims we add shucked Oysters to give our Seafood Gumbo extra flavor. At my home Library I have over 100 different recipes for Gumbo, that were collected while growing up in Louisiana and have shared many of them with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have made this gumbo a total of 3 times now and my friends and family love it! I did make some minor modifications, because being from Kentucky...I had to put a little Kentucky in it. : ) I love hoppin john stew aka black eyed peas and rice, and i use a lot of the flavors like file, cayenne, bell pepper, onion and the like in it. So after the first time I made it (strictly by recipe), I decided why not add some black eyed peas and go ahead and add the rice to it as well? So that's how I did it the last two times I've made it and it is gooood. The original is good too, but the peas and rice thicken it up real nice and just add extra love in my opinion. lol. My neighbor is from New Orleans and I did the big test by taking her some the other night, and the next day she raved. She said it was very good gumbo and that she'd never had it with the b.e. peas and rice added in, but she really loved it that way. My philosophy is..if you like it, put it in there! So thanks for posting the recipe and giving me something new that my family enjoys. I highly recommend it to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as described and it was the best gumbo I've ever tasted. Everyone loved it and there were NO Leftovers! So not sure if it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States