Ultimate Gulf Coast Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Id never made gumbo in my life and this turned out to be absolutely DELICIOUS! I had to hide two bowls for myself because it was going so fast. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
It's not a bad recipe, but not what I would call "ultimate". Being from SE Texas and LA, this is not the kind of gumbo I grew up on. Tony Chachares would be my seasoning of choice instead of old bay, as it has a spicier kick to it. I would also add oysters as an additional protien, cut the tomato out entirely, substitute 2 tblspns of chicken base for chicken broth, add a 1/4 cup of worcestershire sauce, and set out the filet on the table as a garnish alongside chopped green onions...but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clay Stucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
great that there are people out there other than in the south that are trying this, i live in cenla (central louisiana) and grew up in southeast texas, and this is a meal i grew up eating once a week and i cook on a regular basis for my own family now! for my own, i never use chicken broth, i boil chicken breasts and use that as the base broth, i do not add tomatoes, we dont use any seasoning other than tony chacheres seasoning and garlic powder instead of all of the seasonings and herbs in here, while the chicken is boiling i add seasoning and the onions celery bell pepper... ONLY ONLY use andouille sausage no other types of sausage! we prefer beef! and the file is not necessary unless you want to add thickness to your own bowl after youve made it! also i dont use corn oil i just use vegetable oil and im sure whatever you have on hand would be fine, its such a versatile dish and seafood version is sooo good as well! we also love okra added to ours, fresh, canned or frozen any is fine whatever is more convienent for you! im excited about my culture being embraced by others! most of all, i hope you all enjoy, dont stress over it being perfect on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidbrookefreeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Best gumbo I have found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
super yummy!!! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bec1nky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
The best gumbo ever!!!!! My husband and I can't order it at restaurants anymore without comparing theirs to mine. Needless to say, this recipe wins out every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Turned out great and tasted just like I hoped!!! It took a lot of time to make, but it was a very easy process!! The end result out weighs the time you will spend!! LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I lived in New Orleans most of my life this recipe seems great, but noted a "lack of flavor" might be due to Old Bay Seasoning which is common on the East Coast, not in the South. We usually use Zetairan's Creole Seasoning or Tony Chachere's. Try that instead for a more authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monique

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was a very good recipe use snow crab instead of can crab meat my husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Excellent Sha !!! The only thing I did different is add 1/2 C chopped flat leaf Parsley, 1/2 c Green Onion. I also used bacon drippings and made up the difference w/ the oil. I would have used all drippings if I had it!! This is an excellent base recipe as well, just sub whatever meat you want and ALWAYS use Andouille sausage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States