Ultimate Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is awesome. All I had was walnuts, and red apple. Doesn't matter. I love the texture, the crunch of the nuts was my favorite! I will be using the filling in lots of sandwiches! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is tasty, but why close the sandwich while grilling, then open to put in the apple-nut mixture? It's easier to leave it open face, then add the apple-nut mix and close the sandwich. much neater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I thought this was an interesting concept for a sandwich, but I don't eat pork so I substituted chicken. I also added white grapes to the mix. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I was having a bad day. A real bad day. This sandwich saved my day. Very simple and very good. I don't like miracle whip, so I used mayo. I kept everything else the same. This is a new favorite. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I wish I had known years ago how to make grilled cheese sandwiches this way, when I had 5 children to raise. These are so crispy on the outside and so yummy cheese on the inside. It doesnt get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I wanted a quick and easy dinner so decided to try this on a whim. It was great! I omitted the pecans and used wheat bread instead of sour dough. Simple and quick to make, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I loved this! It was so good! I didn't have any thick cut ham, but thin works well too. Its easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I was really looking forward to making this tonight. I bought the cheese, bread, ham and apple and brought them home. I found that the sour cream had expired and someone had eaten the pecans. I used Helman's Mayo and substituted Hidden Valley Lite Ranch for the sour cream. I used some almonds and cashews instead of the pecans and did the rest as per recipe. They turned out GREAT. My wife and I loved them. I can't wait to make them again...I just wonder if I will use the recipe as suggested or make it with the substitutions I used tonight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drredmo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Flavor was great, the texture was all wrong. I used a golden delicious apple, sharp cheddar cheese, and light mayo since I didn't have any Miracle Whip. Instead of cooking the sandwich and taking it apart to put the filling in, I cooked each side open faced and then put the apple filling and then put top and bottom together. I just didn't think prying apart a melted cheese sandwich was a good idea. The flavors were all great together but I couldn't finish more than a couple of bites due to the mushy wet texture of the apple/mayo filling. I really wanted to like this sandwich but it wasn't my thing. Sorry. But as always I love cooking and got to try out a new recipe! Thanks Wife218.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States