Ultimate Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I was really looking forward to making this tonight. I bought the cheese, bread, ham and apple and brought them home. I found that the sour cream had expired and someone had eaten the pecans. I used Helman's Mayo and substituted Hidden Valley Lite Ranch for the sour cream. I used some almonds and cashews instead of the pecans and did the rest as per recipe. They turned out GREAT. My wife and I loved them. I can't wait to make them again...I just wonder if I will use the recipe as suggested or make it with the substitutions I used tonight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drredmo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I wanted a quick and easy dinner so decided to try this on a whim. It was great! I omitted the pecans and used wheat bread instead of sour dough. Simple and quick to make, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Flavor was great, the texture was all wrong. I used a golden delicious apple, sharp cheddar cheese, and light mayo since I didn't have any Miracle Whip. Instead of cooking the sandwich and taking it apart to put the filling in, I cooked each side open faced and then put the apple filling and then put top and bottom together. I just didn't think prying apart a melted cheese sandwich was a good idea. The flavors were all great together but I couldn't finish more than a couple of bites due to the mushy wet texture of the apple/mayo filling. I really wanted to like this sandwich but it wasn't my thing. Sorry. But as always I love cooking and got to try out a new recipe! Thanks Wife218.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I wish I had known years ago how to make grilled cheese sandwiches this way, when I had 5 children to raise. These are so crispy on the outside and so yummy cheese on the inside. It doesnt get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The apple-nut mixture is what really sets this sandwich apart from others...good combo of flavors. You get a little pop of sweetness and a nice crunch from the apples. The pecan flavor is there, but it's subtle. Colby is a mild cheese, and I'll use sharp cheddar the next time, but that's just a taste preference. Nice change for a grilled cheese sandwich and quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is tasty, but why close the sandwich while grilling, then open to put in the apple-nut mixture? It's easier to leave it open face, then add the apple-nut mix and close the sandwich. much neater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I loved this! It was so good! I didn't have any thick cut ham, but thin works well too. Its easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is awesome. All I had was walnuts, and red apple. Doesn't matter. I love the texture, the crunch of the nuts was my favorite! I will be using the filling in lots of sandwiches! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was good but I was hoping the granny smith would give it a little more pop. The fruity taste was rather subtle. I may add some craisons next time. Otherwise, a very good sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States