Ultimate Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I want to give this 5 stars, but between the bacon grease and the butter, I cannot, lol, as delicious as it was, I would definitely only make once in awhile! I had 2 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSYSAUTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Doubled the recipe for a church Board Meeting Supper. They turned out great, and everyone loved them! The only thing I changed was that I used Vegetable Broth instead of water, and added a touch of garlic. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I thought that the bag of trimmed and cleaned green beans I bought was 1 lb. Nope, it was 12 ozs. No problem. I kept all of the measurements as written except decreased to 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. The cooking time was perfect for my beans. Thank you, Eric. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
These were perfect! I made them exactly as written and my DH loved these! I'll definately make these for company too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loydafr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this for a work Christmas party and it was very well recieved--enough that I didn't get to sample it myself! I heard varying comments on the spice, from "just enough kick" to "too spicy for me". However the overall opinion was excellent dish. Maybe 1/2 the red pepper flakes, for those with spice sensitivities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Fabulous, easy, excellent recipe. Followed it to a T minus the lemon cause I didn't have any. Initially thought it might be a little spicy but it was perfect. Did reduce the butter with little flavor consequence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doinit200

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I loved these! It made for a very flavorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I only made half a recipe since it was just for Hubs and me, so it didn't require 15 minutes to cook the beans until crisp/tender and for them to retain their brilliant color. Bacon makes any vegetable better and I include it frequently, but I found the minced onion and lemon to be nice additions that really perked this up. I left out the red pepper flakes and didn't miss it - I don't think including it or not makes these beans any better one way or the other. They'd be delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
this recipe was awesome! I have some pretty good green bean recipes, but wanted to try something a litttle different and this was the bomb! I used canned beans was the only difference. Will make again and again- oh yeh, it was a last minute side- took about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These were really good. I only steamed them for 10 minutes though and they were perfectly cooked. 15 minutes would have overcooked them I think. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States