Ultimate Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I omitted the red pepper flakes and butter and used chicken broth instead of plain water. The beans were good but still kind of bland. I also added minced garlic with the lemon juice. Next time I will try more salt and that will probably do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
These are good and EASY! Few things--- got the pre cooked pack of bacon and the twin pack green beans from SAMs club. Had to use some of it up. Just cut up the bacon and cooked the onion in a little EVOO instead of the bacon grease. Plus added a little less butter. Yummmmy! My husband said it was a little on the spicy side, which this would be good even if u reduced or omitted the red pepper flakes. You could probably replace the flakes for minced garlic? I'll try that next time. Very good! Should be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Swapped out the bacon for diced pancetta, either way, it has amazing flavor. The lemon gives it a subtle kick! The 15 mins was too long to cook, making the green beans too soft/soggy. Recommend checking on it after 8-10 mins. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe was okay, but after eating it, I felt like all the extras just buried the taste of fresh green beans. I think I prefer fresh crisp green beans steamed with salt and butter added at the end. This wasn't a bad recipe....just not one I would repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Delish, but I like to use a little less red pepper than called for. My boyfriend will only eat green beans this way now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious beans! Very happy with recipe just as it was written. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very good lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
These were very good and probably would be even better minus a few of my mistakes. I made this for Thanksgiving. I'm used to broiling by green beans because sometimes steaming can make them soggy - especially since I had to reheat these. I did steam them but just for a little bit. Then I promptly forgot to add lemon. Later, after taking them to the other house, I realized I forgot the bacon. Still, they were delicious so I'm sure they would be even better if I had managed to pay attention
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Just made it for turkey day!! I thru a couple scoops of ricotta cheese in with it and doubled the crushed red pepper. Freaking delicious !!!!!! Oh. I used 7 bacon slices and 1.5lbs of fresh green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
These are wonderfulI used turkey bacon and it tasted great. My husband requests these at least once a week. So easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States