Ultimate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I followed this and made a low cal version, I used fat free milk, whole wheat bread and egg beaters. Classic french toast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I loved this recipe, but added 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1 TBSP cinnamon, 2 Tsp sugar, and 2 TBSP heavy cream. Also depending on the type of bread you are using don't let it soak too long, or it will get very wet and be hard to get in the pan. Also whisk your eggs, cinnamon and vanilla all together before adding milk or cream to evenly disperse the cinnamon througout, otherwise your cinnamon will clump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Yummy in my tummy. No need to complicate French Toast. Good recipe although 8 slices may be a little generous depending on the size of you eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Yum - I just wanted a basic recipe and this was just like mom made! I then topped it off with homemade peach syrup and a sweet cream cheese dollop. My boyfriend said they were awesome - and he is very picky. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Wonderful basic recipe...quick hint, if you want the cinnamon evenly distributed throughout the mixture, whisk eggs and cinnamon together, then add the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Used with thick whole grain spelt bread, this recipe really held up to it... delicious. There wasn't enough batter to coat 6 big slices, so next time I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Perfect! This is just the type of old fashioned french toast my Mom used to make for me. I used white sandwich bread and added vanilla creamer in place of the milk. It was a hit my kids loved it!! This will be my standard french toast recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Traditional/old-fashioned recipes are what I look for. I was happy to find this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Thanks for the basic recipe - couldn't find my dad's this morning. I added vanilla and cinnamon - yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was so simple and so great - I read through all the reviews and decided to use the flavored creamer in place of the milk – I used Vanilla Carmel and did 1Tablespoon per egg and upped the cinnamon and wow – had some Redi-whip handy so I put two dollops on for looks – we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl River, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States